The Yard

Author: Alex Grecian

  • Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Published: 03 Jan 2013
Buy Now

Synopsis

Fans of The Interpretation of Murder and The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher will love The Yard, a gripping crime fiction novel from debut author Alex Grecian, set in atmospheric Victorian London. During the aftermath of the Jack the Ripper case, Scotland Yard's brand new Murder Squad are faced with their most gruesome crime scene yet. The Yard will take you into the dark side of Victorian London and offers a fascinating insight into the birth of CSI.


A new era of fear is just beginning . . .

1889, London. The legacy of Jack the Ripper has cast a shadow over the city.

Victorian London is in the grip of a wave of crime and murder, with its citizens no longer able to trust the police to protect them. The newly formed Murder Squad of Scotland Yard, made up of just twelve detectives, battles in vain against the tide of violence and cruelty.

When the body of a Yard detective is found in a suitcase, his lips sewn together and his eyes sewn shut, it becomes clear that not even the police are safe from attack. Has the Ripper returned - or is a new killer at large?

Walter Day, the squad's newest recruit, is assigned the case and finds a strange ally in the Yard's first forensic pathologist, Dr Bernard Kingsley. Can they find the murderer before it's too late? Or is London at the mercy of a serial killer even deadlier than Jack the Ripper?


'If Charles Dickens isn't somewhere clapping his hands for this one, Wilkie Collins surely is.' New York Times


Alex Grecian has worked for an ad agency on accounts for Harley-Davidson, Cub Foods, and The Great American Smokeout, before returning to writing fiction full time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed comic book series Proof, and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son. The Yard is his first novel.

Product details

  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN: 9780241958919
  • Size: 129 x 198mm
  • Pages: 592
  • Published: 03 Jan 2013
  • Publisher: Penguin
Back to top