Mr Bridge

» Evan S. Connell

Penguin Classics
Paperback : 22 Jan 2013

£8.99


Look inside: Mr Bridge


Click on the large page spread* to take a closer look.

*

The large page spreads will open in a new window. The images can be quite large in file size so may take a short while.

Now showing spread : 
 

Synopsis

Evan S. Connell's Mr Bridge is a moving and darkly funny portrayal of a man who is outwardly successful but internally stunted by existential doubts, repressed sexual yearnings and deep-seated prejudices. Fans of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Yates will enjoy Connell's pitch-perfect portrayal of marriage and family life, and this new Penguin Classics edition also includes an introduction by Lionel Shriver, author of We Need to Talk About Kevin.


Walter Bridge, husband to India and father to three, is a successful lawyer in a Kansas suburb. The daily dramas of his life only serve to illuminate his prejudice, self-doubts and dreary existence - his Christmas gifts to the family are stock certificates, which he immediately takes back to manage on their behalf - yet he is also kind and charitable, loving his wife while never able to tell her so. In Mr Bridge, Evan S. Connell gives us a moving, satirical and poetic portrayal of a man who cannot escape his limitations, and a couple growing old together but unable, ultimately, to connect.

The companion novel, Mrs Bridge, telling the story from the other side of the marriage, is published in Penguin Modern Classics with an introduction by Joshua Ferris, author of Then We Came to the End and The Unnamed.


'Mr Bridge is a tour-de-force of contemporary American realism, a beautiful work of fiction' - Life

'With a delicate and subtle irony, Mr Connell shows us, first from her, then from his point of view, the little daily dramas of this ordinary family. It is very, very funny, often moving and sad, and written with an uncompromising realism that one rarely comes across. To me the Bridges were a revelation: I cannot recommend them too highly' - Daily Telegraph


» Read the opening pages of Mr Bridge by downloading the Penguin Taster here

» Visit Penguin Tasters

Product details

Format : Paperback
ISBN: 9780141198668
Size : 129 x 198mm
Pages : 304
Published : 22 Jan 2013
Publisher : Penguin Classics

Other formats for Mr Bridge:
» ePub eBook: eBook : £5.50

Mr Bridge

» Evan S. Connell

£8.99


Related email updates

To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication or when the author releases another book.

Please alert me via email when:

The author releases another book

Delivery

Shipped within 24hrs.
FREE UK Delivery*

Thank you for signing up.

You will hear from us shortly.
See more, hear more, read more at Penguin.co.uk