A ncient Light

» John Banville

Viking Adult
Hardback : 05 Jul 2012

£16.99

Synopsis

For fans of Colm Toibin's Brooklyn and Julian Barnes' The Sense of an Ending, the story of obsessive young love and the power of grief - Ancient Light is the best novel yet from the Booker Prize winner of The Sea


'Billy Gray was my best friend and I fell in love with his mother.'

Alexander Cleave, an actor who thinks his best days are behind him, remembers his first unlikely affair as a teenage boy in a small town in 1950s Ireland: the illicit meetings in a rundown cottage outside town; assignations in the back of his lover's car on sunny mornings and rain-soaked afternoons. And with these early memories comes something sharper and much darker - the more recent recollection of the actor's own daughter's suicide ten years before.

'I should like to be in love again, I should like to fall in love again, just once more.'

Ancient Light is the story of a life rendered brilliantly vivid: the obsession and selfishness of young love and the terrifying shock of grief. It is a dazzling novel, funny, utterly pleasurable and devastatingly moving in the same moment.


'He is a master, and his prose gives continuous, sensual delight' Martin Amis on John Banville


John Banville was born in Wexford, Ireland, in 1945. He is the author of fourteen previous novels including The Sea, which won the 2005 Man Booker Prize. He was recently awarded the Franz Kafka Prize.


Ancient Light reading

John Banville reads an extract from his new book Ancient Light

Product details

Format : Hardback
ISBN: 9780670920617
Size : 153 x 234mm
Pages : 256
Published : 05 Jul 2012
Publisher : Viking Adult

Other formats for A ncient Light:
» Paperback : £8.99

A ncient Light

» John Banville

£16.99


Related email updates

To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication or when the author releases another book.

Please alert me via email when:

The author releases another book

Delivery

Usually shipped within 2 weeks.
FREE UK Delivery*

Thank you for signing up.

You will hear from us shortly.
See more, hear more, read more at Penguin.co.uk