Penguin Underground Lines boxset

» Various

Particular Books : Penguin Lines
Paperback : 07 Mar 2013



To celebrate the 150th anniversary of the Tube, the Penguin Underground Lines box set brings together 12 books by writers ranging from John O'Farrell to John Lanchester, Lucy Wadham to the Kids' Company

Name: Penguin Underground Lines

Date of Birth: will be born 7th March 2013

Vital statistics: Twelve books, one for each Underground line, to celebrate the Tube's 150th anniversary

Height: when all twelve are stacked up: 4.7 inches

Idea for series: Penguin asked twelve people to tell their tale of the city in 15,000 words (or in one case, no words at all), each inspired by a different tube line.

Defining characteristics: While the responses range from the polemical to the fantastical, the personal to the societal, they offer something for every taste. Read individually they're delightful small reads, pulled together they offer a particular portrait of a global city.

Appearance: determined by the authors, who photographed/drew/picked their cover image, chose their title and wrote the back cover copy, the Penguin logo also takes an outing in the official colour of each tube line -- a unique play with Penguin's design.

The 12 authors: Fantastic Man; Kids Company; Danny Dorling; John Lanchester; William Leith; Richard Mabey; Paul Morley; John O'Farrell; Philippe Parreno; Leanne Shapton; Lucy Wadham; Peter York

Product details

Format : Paperback
ISBN: 9781846147821
Size : 111 x 181mm
Pages : 1500
Published : 07 Mar 2013
Publisher : Particular Books

Penguin Underground Lines boxset

» Various



Usually shipped within 2 weeks.
FREE UK Delivery*

Thank you for signing up.

You will hear from us shortly.
See more, hear more,