Shappi Khorsandi

Quite dark and very funny, it focuses on the teenage struggles of Nina, who absolutely does NOT have a drink problem. Shappi brings with her a number of objects that have shaped her career, ranging from Morph to Charlie Chaplin, and tells Richard how the pain of leaving her beloved homeland of Iran still brings her to tears. And Shappi makes it quite clear that she is not Nina - OK!

  • Nina is Not OK

  • Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn’t?

    Nina’s mum isn’t so sure. But she’s busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina’s almost an adult after all.

    And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina’s drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.

    But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can’t help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her…

    A dark, funny - sometimes shocking - coming of age novel from one of the UK’s leading comedians. NINA IS NOT O.K. will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.

  • Buy the book

Related articles