17 January 2017

I was eighteen when I first stepped out of Sheremetyevo airport and came face to face with Moscow. Gawkily eighteen, I had only pretensions to adulthood, mixed with lust for adventure and appalling naïveté. I did not want to be a writer.

But I didn’t know what I did want. I only saw that four more years of education stretched before me, and I rebelled.

“Russia,” I announced, and proceeded to railroad through all objections. “I am going to Russia.” Russia, I decided, would be my adventure; it would be my escape. It would make me sophisticated, adult, different. In my head, I saw snow and samovars, golden domes, hussars, and troikas. I saw a sparkling country, new-made. I wanted to go there.

But standing in Sheremetyevo airport, faced with the grumble of a language I did not speak, I wondered what the hell I had done. I was obviously American and very young.

Outside the Moscow airport, I came face-to-face with a pearl-colored autumn sky, which was cheerfully spitting rain. 

I did not realize it then, but compared with Moscow, the sky over other cities seems small. The whisk and lights of New York, say, or London, make the sky seem almost incidental. But in Moscow, no matter how big or bright the city gets, the sky above remains turbulent, unforgettable. It dares you to ignore it.

I looked up when I came out of the airport, and I fell in love with the Russian sky.

A car was waiting for me at the airport, driven by a man named Kostya. He was there with his son, who was just my age.

“Katya?” they asked. Not Katherine. No, they called me Katya, and they—friends of friends—were about to become my family. Renamed, I embarked, shakily, on my adventure.

I stayed with Kostya’s family for a year. There were five of us, in a four-room apartment. Husband, wife, two children, and me, the foreigner. The family made space for me; they taught me and were kind to me.

In time, I fell in love with the rest of Russia too: the real country, not my imaginary one. I loved the language, the taste of butter and red caviar, even the bite and glitter of winter. I loved the terrifying independence of being self-reliant and far from home.

Through all of it, there was this sky: furious backdrop to a mad year. Changeable as a girl almost grown. Is that why I loved it so much? Because it reflected my fast-shifting sense of self? I don’t know.

I came home from Russia happier and sadder and older, in the best sense of the word.

Seven years later I thought that maybe, perhaps, I would be a writer.

When I sat down to write a novel, Russia came pouring back out. The sheer drama of that country—colors and noises and weather and history—lends itself to fiction. The instant I put my fingers to the keyboard. I found sky and weather and cold and light and dark all waiting, like colors in a palette. Something about being young and far from home had heightened my impressions and preserved them, so that my memories of pride, confusion and alienation were fresh as they day I made them, and they too found their way into my work.

My book, The Bear and the Nightingale is set in the a mythical version of the Middle Ages, long before I, a teenaged foreigner, got shakily off a plane. But the impression of my year in Moscow still comes through somehow. It is a flavor, a color, a turn of phrase. I don’t know.  

Perhaps it has something to do with the sky.

  • The Bear and The Nightingale

    Winternight Trilogy

  • Beware the evil in the woods. . .

    In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, an elderly servant tells stories of sorcery, folklore and the Winter King to the children of the family, tales of old magic frowned upon by the church.

    But for the young, wild Vasya these are far more than just stories. She alone can see the house spirits that guard her home, and sense the growing forces of dark magic in the woods. . .

    Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials.

    *****
    Now with over 100 5* reviews, readers are spellbound by this magical story:

    'This book stayed with me, I didn't want it to end'

    'A beautifully written story'

    'An entrancing story, which swept me up from the very first chapter'

    'Full of magic'

    *Make sure you've read all the books in the Winternight Trilogy*
    1. The Bear and the Nightingale
    2. The Girl in the Tower
    3. The Winter of the Witch

  • Buy the book

Related articles