test
The Dutch House

1. The Dutch House by Ann Patchett

Ever since I moved to the coast, nearly eleven years ago, the sea has become a constant character in my books. Places aren’t just settings. They feel like people too. I think this is why I love The Dutch House so much. This family drama revolves around a glassy monstrosity or stunning architectural icon — whichever way you see it — which affects everyone who lives in it. To my shame, I had never read Ann Patchett before and now I am looking forward to reading more. Her gift of seeing through to the very heart of young Danny, who tells the story in the first person, has been an unexpected and welcome discovery to me during this strange time. 

Holiday Stories

2. Holiday Stories by Noel Streatfeild

There’s a lot to be said for comfort reading. This author brings back suburban summer childhood days spent in our only tree, reading Ballet Shoes.  Maybe that’s why I fell on this beautifully packaged new edition of short stories with excitement. I particularly enjoyed ‘Devon Mettle’ which starts like this: ‘Staying with Grandmother was an event, the loveliest bit of the summer, a glorious time.’ I can’t wait to share this with my own grandchildren when restrictions are lifted.

 

3. The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman

This made me laugh so much that I committed my husband’s cardinal crime: I kept interrupting his reading to read out passages. It’s not just the plot (a group of OAPs solving murders at an upmarket retirement home) but the viewpoints which stand out. Unexpected, side-splitting and poignant. If this is what retired life is like, I’m booking my spot now! I’ve always got on well with older people. Maybe because our grandmother lived with us when my sister and I were growing up. 

Available for pre-order.

4. How to Disappear by Gillian McAllister

I usually make a point of not picking up crime novels because I prefer to read outside my genre. But when I was sent this for a review, I was utterly gripped. I’ve always wondered what happens when someone goes into witness protection. But this mother/daughter story, with a viewpoint from the stepfather, adds new heat to summer days. 

Available for pre-order.

Someone at a Distance

5. Somone at a Distance by Dorothy Whipple

First published in 1953, this is the kind of book which stays with you. It’s a deceptively quiet story about a deceived wife which delivers a powerful punch to the heart. Yet also leaves you with hope that true love still exists. I devoured this during a holiday in Capri.

Jane Corry's latest heart-in-mouth psychological thriller I Made a Mistake is out in May 2020. For fans of Nicci French, Lisa Jewell and Clare Mackintosh, Corry's novel is a truly addictive read following two women who make life changing mistakes. You can read an extract from her new thriller here.

  • I Made a Mistake

  • <h2> IT STARTED WITH A KISS... AND ENDED WITH MURDER. </h2>

    <h2> The darkly addictive new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of I Looked Away, Blood Sisters and My Husband's Wife. </h2>
    --------------------------------------------------------
    In Poppy Page's mind, there are two types of women in this world: those who are faithful to their husbands, and those who are not. Until now, Poppy has never questioned which she was.

    But when handsome, charming Matthew Gordon walks back into her life after almost two decades, that changes. Poppy makes a single mistake - and that mistake will be far more dangerous than she could imagine.

    Someone is going to pay for it with their life . . .
    --------------------------------------------------------

    WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT I MADE A MISTAKE

    'Absolutely brilliant...full of twists and turns that left me positively breathless' Angela Marsons

    'A python of a book; it draws you in gently at first and then the coils of tension begin to tighten and refuse to let you go...' Jane Shemilt

    'A chilling maze of twists and turns, bestseller Jane Corry's latest thriller will have you hooked from page one' OK

    'Readers you are in for a tremendous treat - a roller-coaster of a ride that will leave you screaming, 'No!' on more than one occasion' Carol Wyer

    'What an addictive read! Extremely clever storytelling with terrific pace and real emotional depth too. I loved it' Teresa Driscoll

    'Corry often explores darker themes, and those living on the fringes of society and this book is no exception: gritty, real, interesting and clever. Highly recommended' Gillian McAllister

    'Jane Corry's psychological thrillers have sold more than a million copies so far, and this is the most gripping yet' Sunday Express

    'I Made a Mistake is an absorbing and gripping masterpiece, skilfully plotted with superbly drawn characters who will stay with you long after you've finished reading' Kathryn Croft

    'I love all Jane Corry's books but this is her best yet. So clever, compulsive and twisty with a reveal I never saw coming. Superb' Claire Douglas

    'Fans of Louise Doughty and Clare Mackintosh will love I Made a Mistake. Exhilarating and heartbreaking in equal measure, this story will stay with me for a long time' Nuala Ellwood

  • Buy the book

Read more


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising