Irish author Marian Keyes returns in Feb 2020 with her new novel 'Grown Ups'

Marian Keyes returns in February 2020 with her new novel 'Grown Ups'

Slack-Tide by Elanor Dymott (16 Jan)

It’s been four years since the loss of a child broke her marriage, and since the traumatic event, Elizabeth is fiercely protective of her independence. Until she meets Robert, who she falls breathtakingly in love with amidst a passionate affair. When you’ve lost lasting love, what price will you pay to find it again?   

Mix Tape by Jane Sanderson (23 Jan)

You know what they say – you never forget the one that got away. But what if ‘what could have been’ is still to come? When an old flame pops up on Alison’s phone out of the blue, sharing a song from their past, she is transported back to being a 16-year-old in Sheffield in the midst of their thrilling romance. They begin to exchange a mix tape, and their forgotten love begins to blossom once more. 

Grown Ups by Marian Keyes (6 Feb)

Queen of romantic comedies, Marian Keyes, returns with a telling tale about a glamorous family, The Caseys. Hosting lavish parties with their beautiful wives, they seem to live perfect lives – but of course, all is not as it seems. When Ed’s wife, Cara, suffers a concussion, everything changes. She can’t keep her thoughts to herself and their secrets start to unfold, in full view of friends and family.
 

  • Grown Ups

  • PRE-ORDER NOW: THE BRAND-NEW BOOK FROM MARIAN KEYES, THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE BREAK AND THE WOMAN WHO STOLE MY LIFE

    They're a glamorous family, the Caseys.

    Johnny Casey, his two brothers Ed and Liam, their beautiful, talented wives and all their kids spend a lot of time together - birthday parties, anniversary celebrations, weekends away. And they're a happy family. Johnny's wife, Jessie - who has the most money - insists on it.

    Under the surface, though, conditions are murkier. While some people clash, other people like each other far too much . . .

    Everything stays under control until Ed's wife Cara, gets concussion and can't keep her thoughts to herself. One careless remark at Johnny's birthday party, with the entire family present, starts Cara spilling out all their secrets.

    In the subsequent unravelling, every one of the adults finds themselves wondering if it's time - finally - to grow up?

    'Sensitive, funny, wonderful, immensely touching' Nigella Lawson

    'Happy making with glorious wit' Helen Lederer

    'Funny & thoughtful & such brilliantly drawn characters I am genuinely bereft that my time with them is over' Hannah Beckerman

    'It's SUCH a treat. I felt like I was reading the cleverest cream cake of words' Caitlin Moran

    'Marian Keyes's gift for storytelling is utterly magnificent. I feel like I've met every single character in this book. Nobody nails chaotic families like Marian' Liz Nugent

    Praise for Marian Keyes:

    'Mercilessly funny' The Times

    'Clever, hilarious, poignant' Sunday Times

    'Wildly funny, romantic and nearly impossible to put down' Daily Mail

    'Guaranteed to make me laugh on the very first page' Liane Moriarty

  • Buy the book

Saturdays at Noon by Rachel Marks (6 Feb)

Two troubled individuals – Emily and Jake – find their worlds change when they cross paths at their weekly anger management session. Initially treating each other with suspicion, everything they initially think about each other is about to change – but can they change how they feel about themselves? A thought-provoking romance novel with a difference.

The Perfect Dress by Louisa Leaman (6 Feb)

Fran’s wedding dress shop is a treasure trove of history, filled with ivory gowns from every decade for every type of bride. But when Fran finds a dress that seems to be perfect for her, she is desperate to know its history. And where better to start than with the son of the previous owner…

A Springtime Affair by Katie Fforde (20 Feb)

Love is in the air in the latest book from cult romance novelist Katie Fforde. Gilly proudly runs her own B&B, until she meets a handsome estate agent called Leo who makes her wonder if the time has come to sell up. Meanwhile, her daughter Helena has a budding romance of her own… with spring approaching and the season of new beginnings, could their new loves lead to their happily ever after?

The Two Lives of Lydia Bird by Josie Silver (5 Mar)

A tale of two love stories, and one impossible choice. Lydia and Freddie have been together 10 years and are inseparable until Freddie tragically dies in an accident. But then the impossible happens and Lydia gets another chance at her old life with Freddie – but there’s someone in her new life to complicate things. An uplifting story that makes you value the gift of love.
 

  • The Two Lives of Lydia Bird

  • THE CAPTIVATING NEW NOVEL FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF ONE DAY IN DECEMBER

    Two love stories. One Impossible Choice.

    Lydia and Freddie. Freddie and Lydia. They've been together for almost a decade, and Lydia thinks their love is indestructible.

    But she's wrong. Because on her 27th birthday, Freddie dies in a tragic accident.

    So now it's just Lydia, and all she wants to do is hide indoors and sob 'til her eyes fall out. But Lydia knows that Freddie would want her to live her life well. So, enlisting the help of his best friend and her sister Elle, she takes her first tentative steps into the world and starts to live - perhaps even to love - again.

    Then something unbelievable happens, and Lydia gets another chance at her old life with Freddie. But what if there's someone in her new life who wants her to stay?

    A heart-breaking, uplifting story for fans of PS I Love You and Me Before You, this gorgeously romantic novel will make you laugh, cry and remind you of what a wonderful gift it is to love and to be loved.

    _______________

    WHAT EVERYONE SAID ABOUT ONE DAY IN DECEMBER

    'You'll fall head over heels for this book' Reese Witherspoon

    'The sweetest love story . . . you're going to love it' Marian Keyes

    ***** 'I LOVE, LOVE, LOVED this book' Netgalley reader

    ***** 'I want to reread it over and over' Netgalley reader

    'The love story you've been waiting for' Miranda Dickinson

    'The number one feel-good read' Dinah Jefferies

    ***** 'I just didn't want this book to end' Netgalley reader

    ***** 'Devastatingly good' Netgalley reader

  • Buy the book

More Than A Mum by Charlene Allcott (5 Mar)

From a fresh new voice in fiction comes a story about a working mother of two, Alison, who feels like she has lost herself. Restless for some excitement in her life amidst refereeing arguments between her two daughters, she finally finds it in the form of charismatic Frank – but is he all he makes out to be? 

Redhead by the Side of the Road by Anne Tyler (9 Apr)

When measured and methodical Micah, a self-proclaimed ‘tech hermit’, is confronted with a teenager on his doorstep claiming to be his son, he is shocked at the surprise he is poorly equipped to handle. This offbeat love story looks into the mind of a man who finds everyone just out of reach and contains an underlying lesson that celebrates those little differences that make us all unique.
 

  • Redhead by the Side of the Road

  • From the bestselling author of A Spool of Blue Thread: an offbeat love story about mis-steps, second chances and the elusive art of human connection

    Micah Mortimer isn’t the most polished person you’ll ever meet. His numerous sisters and in-laws regard him oddly but very fondly, but he has his ways and means of navigating the world. He measures out his days running errands for work – his TECH HERMIT sign cheerily displayed on the roof of his car – maintaining an impeccable cleaning regime and going for runs (7:15, every morning). He is content with the steady balance of his life.

    But then the order of things starts to tilt. His woman friend Cassia (he refuses to call anyone in her late thirties a ‘girlfriend’) tells him she’s facing eviction because of a cat. And when a teenager shows up at Micah’s door claiming to be his son, Micah is confronted with another surprise he seems poorly equipped to handle.

    Redhead by the Side of the Road is an intimate look into the heart and mind of a man who sometimes finds those around him just out of reach – and a love story about the differences that make us all unique.

  • Buy the book

The Tea Gardens by Fiona McIntosh (14 May) 

This passionate love story set in the 30s takes us from the cobbled streets of Brighton to the foothills of the Himalayas following the adventures of young Dr Isla Fenwick. With little interest in romance, she is determined to fulfil her life-long dream of practising medicine in India, that is – until she finds herself drawn closer and closer to her aloof colleague, Professor Saxon Vickery. 

The Summer Holiday by Elizabeth Noble (11 Jun)

The new novel about the joys and heartbreaks of a family divided and reunited, from the bestselling author of Richard & Judy selection Love, Iris.  

Elizabeth Noble's latest novel 'The Summer Holiday' publishes June 11th 2020.

Elizabeth Noble's latest novel 'The Summer Holiday' publishes June 11th 2020.

A Lover’s Discourse by Xiaolu Guo (4 Jun) 

A Chinese woman travels to London to do a PhD in film anthropology and start a new life. While there, she strikes up a relationship with a landscape architect. Despite navigating their differences they fall in love and she desperately hopes this relationship will give her a place to call home. This is a tender novel that explores cultural anxiety amidst a backdrop of the Brexit vote,’ told through fragments of conversation. 

Darling by India Knight (5 Nov) 

After escaping rural life in Norfolk, teenage Linda finds herself in London pursuing a career in modelling, eventually marrying the handsome son of a UKIP peer. But as her new life starts to fall apart at the seams, a spontaneous Eurostar trip to Paris and the meeting of a mysterious stranger upends her life completely. 
 

  • Darling

  • 'Knight is brilliant on comic details . . . and spot-on about relationships' The Times

    Marooned in a sprawling farmhouse in Norfolk, teenage Linda Radlett feels herself destined for greater things. She longs for love, but how will she ever find it? She can't even get a signal on her mobile phone. Linda's strict, former rock star father terrifies any potential suitors away, while her bohemian mother, wafting around in silver jewellery, answers Linda's urgent questions about love with upsettingly vivid allusions to animal husbandry.

    Eventually Linda does find her way out from the bosom of her deeply eccentric extended family, and moves to London to become a model. She knows she doesn't want to marry "a man who looks like a pudding," as her good and dull sister Louisa has done, and marries the flashy, handsome son of a UKIP peer instead. But her new life is unromantic: darker, wilder and more complicated than she expected.

    Then one day, at her lowest ebb, Linda spontaneously boards the Eurostar to Paris. There she is swept up in a feverish love affair that will upend her life completely.

    A razor-sharp, laugh-out-loud novel that re-imagines the cast of Nancy Mitford's The Pursuit of Love.

    ********************

    Praise for India Knight

    'Almost unbearably funny' New Statesman

    'Tender, tough, schmaltzy, witty and heart-warming all at once. Knight has a great comic touch' Metro

    'Brilliantly funny and knowing . . . Clara Hutt could eat Bridget Jones for breakfast' Evening Standard

  • Buy the book

Related articles