A picture of several children's books that are perfect for fans of Disney's Frozen, on a pink and blue ombre background with snowflakes.

Image: Alicia Fernandes/Penguin

No one foresaw the juggernaut that Disney’s 2013 film Frozen was going to be. The magical tale of two sisters fighting for freedom and each other against an icy backdrop left children enraptured – and parents with frazzled nerves, having been forced to listen to the movie’s anthem ‘Let It Go’ over and over again.

If you have a Frozen lover at home and you’re in dire need of a break from ‘Do you wanna build a snowman?’, we’ve picked out a selection of stories perfect for moving young diehards' eyes from the screen to the page.

The Snow Queen by Hans Christian Andersen & Sanna Annukka (1844)

Did you know that Frozen is loosely based on Hans Christian Andersen’s famous story? Although, unlike Andersen’s snow queen, Elsa is a hero instead of a villain. For children new to Andersen’s stories, The Snow Queen follows the friendship of Gerda and Kai as they learn the difference between good and evil. Finnish illustrator Sanna Annukka has retold Andersen’s magical tale in this stunning and unique book that makes a wonderful gift for any child who wants to be whisked away on an icy adventure.

Recommended reading age: 5-12 years old

Frostheart by Jamie Littler (2019)

All aboard the Frostheart for a hilarious adventure with a brave boy called Ash! Ash and his yeti guardian Tobu (who is reminiscent of Elsa’s snow-monster Marshmallow) live in the furthest part of the known world, cut off from the rest of human-kind by creatures that lurk beneath the Snow Sea. When a group of travellers arrives on his rocky outcrop, he discovers more about his missing parents and realises he has been given the magical power of song weaving. This power sees him whisked aboard the Frostheart sleigh on a journey that will change his life forever. This page-turner is perfect for fans of Frozen and fantastical adventures!

Recommended reading age: 8-12 years old

Northern Lights by Philip Pullman (1995)

Orphan Lyra Belacqua has been given shelter by the scholars at Jordan College in Oxford, with her daemon familiar Pantalaimon by her side. But when her uncle Lord Asriel arrives unexpectedly and is almost assassinated, she is drawn into a terrible struggle involving the mysterious Gobblers, armoured bears, and witch clans. Lyra is able to overcome all the terrors that come her way, but she finds something even more shocking when she reaches the cold and desolate far North. This spellbinding audiobook, narrated by Philip Pullman himself, really is a masterpiece that will thrill any reader. There is also a captivating graphic novel version.

Recommended reading age: 9-12 years old

Wintersmith by Terry Pratchett & Paul Kidby (2006)

The third book in Terry Pratchett’s comical Tiffany Aching fantasy series sees our hero become the object of affection for the spirit of winter. After seeing her perform the Dark Dance, the Wintersmith starts to bestow gifts such as Tiffany-shaped snowflakes and a crown of ice upon her. But then Tiffany realises that she is dancing to his rhythm and can’t change the steps. If the trainee witch can’t work out how to bring the Wintersmith under control then – just like when Elsa set off an eternal winter – the world may never see springtime again!

Recommended reading age: 10+ years old

The Snow Merchant by Sam Gayton & Chris Riddell (2014)

Lettie Peppercorn definitely wouldn’t describe her life as exciting; nothing spectacular has ever happened to her. But one day, everything changes. It’s a winter’s night when her house on stilts near the coast of Albion receives a visitor. It is an old man who calls himself the Snow Merchant, and he claims to be the greatest alchemist who ever lived. In his suitcase he is carrying his latest invention – yep, you’ve guessed it: snow. Lettie doesn’t know it yet, but it’s an invention that is going to change her world forever. This journey of self-discovery is perfect for fans of Frozen.

Recommended reading age: 9-11 years old

The Ice Whisperers by Helenka Stachera & Marco Guadalupi (2021)

We hope Elsa and Anna fans are ready to be taken on an adventure with Bela and her sister Ren-ya, who were born 40,000 years apart. When Bela’s mother dies, she has no choice but to move from Poland to deepest, darkest Siberia to live with an uncle she’s never met. Whilst exploring his strange workshop, she makes a monumental discovery – a doorway that opens into an icy world, frozen in time and filled with prehistoric creatures. But this land is under threat, and Bela must find a way to save it. Similar to Frozen, Helenka Stachera’s debut book explores themes of family and belonging in a way that will warm everyone’s hearts.

Recommended reading age: 8-12 years old

The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis (1950)

C. S. Lewis first introduced the world to Narnia in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, which saw four very ordinary siblings – Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy – discover the magical land after walking through a wardrobe. Like Arendelle, Narnia has been plunged into a perpetual winter, although in this story, it’s the doing of the evil White Witch. As well as encountering fauns, beavers, and witches, it’s up to the Pevensie children to help the great lion Aslan save Narnia. All seven books in The Chronicles of Narnia are narrated in this audiobook by a stellar cast including Richard Griffiths, Sylvester McCoy, Fiona Shaw, and Timothy Spall.

Recommended reading age: 7-9 years old

The Snowman by Michael Morpurgo & Robin Shaw (2018)

"Some people are worth melting for." Fans of Frozen’s Olaf will love this story about another snowman that comes to life. Children’s author Michael Morpurgo has rewritten Raymond Briggs’ classic story for a new generation of readers. One winter’s morning James is enthralled as he watches snow falling in his garden. He decides to go outside and build a snowman. He gives it eyes, a nose, and a scarf, just like the snowman from his favourite story. When he goes to bed, something truly magical happens and James’ snowman comes to life. The pair set off on an incredible adventure and meet someone very special indeed. Can you guess who?

Recommended reading age: 7-10 years old

The Proudest Blue by Ibtihaj Muhammad, S. K. Ali & Hatem Aly (2020)

It’s Faizah’s first day at school and her older sister Asiya’s first day of hijab. Asiya’s hijab is made of beautiful blue fabric, like the colours of the sea and sky. She looks like a princess to Faizah. But not everyone can see its beauty. Can Faizah find a way to be strong for her sister when she encounters hurtful comments from other children? Ibtihaj Muhammad, fencing medallist and the first American Muslim woman to compete in the Olympic Games whilst wearing a hijab, has written a beautifully uplifting book about staying strong in the face of adversity, being proud of your identity, and the unshakable bond between sisters.

Recommended reading age: 4-8 years old

Moominland Midwinter by Tove Jansson (1957)

Moomins don’t really have any reason to encounter snow, as they usually sleep through the winter. But this goes awry when Moomintroll wakes up one year and finds he can’t get back to sleep! With an empty stomach and no one to talk to, he heads out into the snow-covered world. But it’s not the world he left behind when he went to sleep. Unlike Elsa in Frozen, the cold bothers Moomintroll, and he’s left feeling scared. But then he sees some tracks in the snow and decides to follow them. Perhaps he’s not the only one awake in Moominland after all…

Recommended reading age: 7-9 years old

Ladybird Tales of Adventurous Girls (2018)

The empowering and courageous tales in this colourful collection will inspire girls to become the heroes of their own story, just like Elsa and Anna. These classic six tales from all corners of the globe, including a retelling of The Snow Queen, follow a host of characters as they use their strength, bravery, and quick wits to defeat evil and adversity. Featuring a special introduction from award-winning author Jacqueline Wilson, Ladybird Tales of Adventurous Girls suits Frozen fans of all ages and is perfect for bedtime reading.

Recommended reading age: 4-8 years old

What did you think of this article? Are there any other films or TV series your child is obsessed with? Email editor@penguinrandomhouse.co.uk and let us know.

Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising