A photograph of the book 'Her Wartime Secret' against wooden floorboards, next to a cup of coffee, a throw, and a white corsage.

To celebrate the publication of Her Wartime Secret, we are offering one  reader the chance to win a year’s subscription to MyHeritage, the leading global discovery platform for exploring family history.

If you are the lucky winner, you will have access to MyHeritage’s family tree building services for one year to help you to uncover your own family secrets and bring your ancestry to life. Your subscription will include access to MyHeritage’s 14 billion historical records and world-leading AI technologies for animating, repairing, and enhancing historical photos. To find out more about MyHeritage visit www.myheritage.com.

For your chance to win, enter your details below.

The competition closes 31st December 2021. Terms and conditions apply. 

  • This is a required field.

    Your email is invalid

    The email addresses must be different.

    This is a required field.

    Your email is invalid

    The email addresses must be different.

    This is a required field.

    Your email is invalid

    The email addresses must be different.

    This is a required field.

    This is a required field.

    This is a required field.

    This is a required field.

    To find out what personal data we collect and how we use it, please visit our Privacy Policy

The form could not be submitted. Please try again!

Recaptcha validation Failed. Please try again!

Terms and conditions:

1.  No purchase necessary to enter the online prize draw. 

2. This prize draw is open to UK residents aged 18 years or over, with the exception of employees of the Promoter, their families, agents and anyone else connected with this promotion.

3. The Promoter accepts no responsibility for any entries that are incomplete, illegible, corrupted or fail to reach the Promoter by the relevant closing date for any reason. Proof of posting or sending is not proof of receipt. Automatically generated entries and entries via agents or third parties are invalid and will not be counted.

4. Only one entry per person.

5. The potential winner may be required to provide Promoter with proof that he/she is the authorised account holder of the user name/email account associated with the winning entry. 

6. The Promoter cannot be held responsible for non-receipt of entries due to technical problems or network difficulties.

7. All correctly completed entries received by the closing date (31st December 2021) will be entered into a prize draw, which will take place by 14th January 2022.

8. One winner will be drawn at random and notified via email shortly thereafter.

9. The winner will have 14 days to confirm acceptance of their prize otherwise the Promoter reserves the right to reallocate the prize to a reserve winner.

10. The prize for the winner is one twelve month MyHeritage Complete Gift membership

11. The winner will be notified of their prize by Penguin Books.

12. By taking part in the Promotion, the winner acknowledges that they may be required to take part in relevant publicity without further consent or payment. Such publicity may include, without limitation, the winners’ name and/or image, statements made by the winner concerning the Promotion and/or prizes obtained as part of the Promotion.

13. Prizes are subject to availability. In the event of unforeseen circumstances, the Promoter reserves the right (a) to substitute alternative prizes (b) in exceptional circumstances to amend or foreclose the promotion without notice. No correspondence will be entered into.

14. The Promoter will use any data submitted by entrants only for the purposes of running the prize draw, unless otherwise stated in the entry details. By entering this prize draw, all entrants consent to the use of their personal data by the Promoter for the purposes of the administration of this prize draw and any other purposes to which the entrant has consented.

15. Promoter may disqualify any entrant whose entry does not comply with these terms and conditions (in Promoter’s sole opinion) or who, in Promoter’s sole determination, has acted in a manner that is fraudulent, dishonest or unjust to other entrants including, without limitation, tampering with the operation of the prize draw, manipulating or rigging votes, hacking, deceiving, cheating or by harassing or threatening other entrants or a representative of Promoter.

 

16. Nothing in these terms of use excludes or limits the Promoter’s liability for death or personal injury arising from negligence, or fraud or fraudulent misrepresentation, or any other liability that cannot be excluded or limited by English law. To the extent permitted by law, these terms exclude all conditions, warranties, representations or other terms which may apply to participation in the competition or receipt and/or use of the prize, whether express or implied. Neither the Promoter nor MyHeritage shall be liable to any entrant for any loss or damage, whether in contract, tort (including negligence), breach of statutory duty, or otherwise, even if foreseeable, arising under or in connection with the entrant’s participation in the competition and/or use of the prize, including but not limited to any loss or damage caused by (a) unauthorised human intervention in the competition; (b) technical errors related to computers, servers, providers, or telephone, or network lines; (c) any errors on the competition site that may impact entry; (d) printing errors; (e) lost, late, misdirected, garbled, inaccurate, or undeliverable entries, trivia games or mail; (f) errors in the administration of the competition; or (g) damage to property.

17. By entering the prize draw each entrant agrees to be bound by these terms and conditions.

18. The Promoter is Penguin Books Limited, One Embassy Gardens, 8 Viaduct Gardens, London, SW11 7BW

19. These terms and conditions are governed in accordance with the laws of England and Wales.

  • Her Wartime Secret

  • **PRE-ORDER NOW!**
    The first brilliant WWII novel by Emma Hornby, bestselling author of A Shilling for a Wife
    ------------

    Bolton, Lancashire: 1940


    A family torn apart by war, held together by a secret . . .

    Janie and her husband James have a strong, loving marriage. A move from an inner-city slum to a peaceful new estate outside of Bolton should have been a fresh start for them and their three children. But when war is declared and James announces he has signed up, Janie fears it's the beginning of the end.

    Waving goodbye to their menfolk is a sacrifice that families are making all over the country and Janie does her best to make do, forging friendships in her new community.

    But when James comes home on leave a traumatised and desperate man, then goes AWOL, Janie's heart goes out to him. Determined to keep him safe, she plans to hide him in their new house. But how long can they keep the secret, and what threats lie ahead if they're found out?

    A page-turning new wartime saga about love, friendship and secrets, for fans of Katie Flynn and Rosie Goodwin.
    ---------------------

    Readers love Emma Hornby
    :


    'Similar to Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court, Emma Hornby tells a brilliant story that will keep you guessing with twists and turns. Pure talent.'

    'Emma Hornby's books just keep getting better and better. Honest, gritty, lovely characters.'

    'Keep writing Emma, you are very talented and can't wait for your next book. I've read them all.'

    'Emma is a wonderful storyteller and I can't wait for the next one!'

    'Thank you again Emma Hornby for a captivating read'

    'Another beautifully written story by Emma Hornby'

  • Buy the book

Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising