The Wars of the Roses Series

The bestselling Wars of the Roses series by Conn Iggulden spans the thirty-year-long civil war when two families, the Yorks and the Lancasters, ripped England apart during one of the most bloody and brutal periods of British history.


Book 1: Stormbird

King Henry V - the great Lion of England - is long dead.

In 1437, after years of regency, the pious and gentle Henry VI, the Lamb, comes of age and accedes to the English throne. His poor health and frailty of mind render him a weakling king - Henry depends on his closest men, Spymaster Derry Brewer and William de la Pole, Duke of Suffolk, to run his kingdom. Yet there are those, such as the Plantagenet Richard, Duke of York, who believe England must be led by a strong king if she is to survive...

Book 2: Trinity

1454: King Henry VI has remained all but exiled in Windsor Castle, struck down by illness for over a year. Meanwhile his fiercely loyal wife and Queen, Margaret of Anjou, safeguards her husband's interests.

Richard Duke of York, extends his influence throughout the kingdom with each month that Henry slumbers. The Earls of Salisbury and Warwick make up a formidable trinity with Richard, and together they seek to break the support of Henry. But when the King unexpectedly recovers his senses, the balance of power is once again thrown into turmoil...


Book 3: Bloodline

Richard, Duke of York is dead, his ambitions in ruins, his head spiked on the walls of the city.

King Henry VI is still held prisoner. His Lancastrian Queen rides south with an army of victorious northerners, accompanied by painted warriors from the Scottish Highlands. With the death of York, Margaret and her army seem unstoppable.

Yet in killing the father, Margaret has unleashed the sons.

Two men can always claim a crown. 

Only one can keep it.



Book 4: Ravenspur

England, 1470. A divided kingdom cannot stand. 

King Edward of York has been driven out of England. Queen Elizabeth and her children tremble in sanctuary at Westminster Abbey. The House of Lancaster has won the crown, but York will not go quietly.

Desperate to reclaim his throne, Edward lands at Ravenspur with a half-drowned army and his brother Richard at his side. Every hand is against them, every city gate is shut, yet the brothers York go on the attack...


Praise for the Wars of the Roses series:

"Superbly plotted and paced" - The Times

"Pacey and juicy, and packed with action" - Sunday Times

"It's been said that Game of Thrones is the Wars of the Roses written as fantasy: this is the real thing, more glorious, more passionate, far, far more gritty" - Manda Scott, bestselling author of Boudica

"Energetic, competent stuff; Iggulden knows his material and his audience" - Independent

"A novel that seamlessly combines narrative, historical credence and great knowledge of the period" - Daily Express

"A page-turning thriller" - Mail on Sunday


Find out more about the author