The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chronicles Book 1) by Rick Riordan

This book is the first in the Kane Chronicles trilogy, written by fantasy author Rick Riordan. Two magical siblings – Carter and Sadie Kane – confront the threat of an Egyptian God of chaos who has returned to wreak havoc on the mortal world. The mix of ancient history and mythology with contemporary heroes is weaved together into an intricate and fast-moving plot, which will hook readers into the whole trilogy. There is also a more recent graphic edition of the book for a real visual treat. 

Keeper of the Realms: Crow's Revenge (Book 1) by Marcus Alexander

This fantasy has dragons, magic, wicked rulers and a strong heroine – ticking all the boxes for readers with a Game of Thrones shaped hole in their lives. Lighter and funnier than some of the other long fantasy series around, Keeper of the Realms is nevertheless a tense, action-packed adventure full of heart – and heart-stopping plot twists.

The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper

A modern classic, The Dark is Rising is part of a five-book series of loosely connected stories set in contemporary Britain, drawing on Celtic and Norse mythology as well as Arthurian legends. In this book, Will Stanton discovers he is an ‘old one’, which gives him the power to use The Light in the eternal battle against The Dark. The fantastical elements are more muted here than in some series, but the sense of threat posed by the mysterious evil force is almost unbearably exciting.

The King Arthur Trilogy by Rosemary Sutcliff

The King Arthur Trilogy is a brilliant introduction to the mythology that inspired so much modern fantasy. Rosemary Sutcliff’s retelling of these stories doesn’t shy away from the most bloody and poignant parts of the legends and there are modern ideas and twists to make this otherwise faithful version of Sir Thomas Malory's Le Morte d'Arthur gripping for new readers. This is a perfect read for serious lovers of die-hard fantasy, who want to know where the likes of Game of Thrones author George R. R. Martin get their ideas.

The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice Book 1) by John Flanagan

The first in John Flanagan’s bestselling Ranger’s Apprentice series, The Ruins of Gorlan introduces readers to Will as he trains to become a Ranger – a secretive group of warriors who protect the kingdom. The biggest threat comes from exiled warlord Morgarath, but even within Will’s own group of friends, there are dangerous tensions brewing. With its epic scale, this series will satisfy readers who love getting lost in long-running and intricate fantasies.

The Emerald Atlas: The Books of Beginning 1 by John Stephens

The Emerald Atlas kicks off a fantasy series following three orphans destined for adventure in a frightening alternative reality. As they battle to save the world from dark forces, they also start to unravel mysteries about their own lost parents and in turn their destiny. The mix of siblings being thrown into another world draws comparisons to C. S. Lewis’s Narnia books and is a great next step for slightly more grown-up readers.

The Whispering Mountain (Prequel to the Wolves Chronicles series) by Joan Aiken

In the small town of Pennygaff, the legendary Harp of Teirtu is found - and lost again. For young Owen Hughes and his friend Arabis, it is the start of a hair-raising race to save the harp from sinister Lord Malyn. As they struggle to keep it out of his hands, they are plunged into a wild adventure involving murder, kidnapping, underground worlds, savage beasts, floods, avalanche, the mysterious children of the Pit - and above all, a man who will stop at nothing to get the harp back again.

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer (Book 1) by Rick Riordan

Another elaborate fantasy read from Rick Riordan – the best-selling author of Percy JacksonMagnus Chase and the Sword of Summer plunges readers into a new blend of mythology and modernity in a fast-paced adventure. In this first book, our hero Magnus discovers that his father is a Norse god and it’s now up to him to stop an immortal battle from destroying the world.

The Snow-Walker Trilogy by Catherine Fisher

If the icy wastelands of the North in Game of Thrones is what captures your imagination, then this snowy series is a good bet. The trilogy follows a brave group of outlaws as they try to stop the sinister snow-walker Gudrun from taking over. As the story unfolds and gathers pace, we realise the heroes are engaged in an epic battle, not just between generations, but also good and evil.

Spook's: A New Darkness by Joseph Delaney

For years, the local Spook kept the county safe from evil. But now his time has ended, and there is only one boy who can take over – Thomas Ward, barely more than a child himself. Now he too must take on an apprentice, a girl called Jenny who is untested but willing to be trained in the dangerous life of a Spook. When girls start dying in mysterious circumstances, they soon find themselves on the path of a terrifying and deadly beast. Monstrous assassins are loose in the County, and far to the north, a new darkness is rising that threatens to engulf the whole world. Do Tom and Jenny stand a chance against the might of the Kobalos?


Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising