World Book Day 2021 activities

Image: Getty

Dress up as your favourite character

For children, dressing up as their favourite book character and then showing off their outfit was the highlight of the day. But although kids won’t be able to go into school to do that, there are other ways they can flaunt their costume of choice! You could organise a Zoom call with their friends or family members and get them to talk about why they chose their character. When you head out for your daily walk, they can wear their costume (good weather-dependent, of course). Or knock on your neighbour’s door for a socially-distanced visit so they can praise your little book lover’s fantastic effort. Don’t forget to take some pictures too. You could even do a themed photoshoot based on the characters they’ve chosen. Stuck for costume ideas? Check out our step-by-step guides here.

Share a story and do a book swap

This year, the World Book Day team is focusing on the magic of sharing stories. So, why not do a book swap with your children and their friends? They can pick out their favourite books they think their mates will like, plus they’ll receive something new to read as well! Another way for kids to share a story is to all agree on one book to read, and then they can talk about it over a Zoom call. If it’s a success, they could form their own socially-distanced book club.

Pick up a £1 World Book Day book

Of course, one of the best ways to celebrate World Book Day is by getting your hands on this year’s £1 books. We recommend Humza Arshad and Henry White’s Little Badman and the Radioactive Samosa and Tom Fletcher’s There’s a Wolf in Your Book, but there’s a whole selection of exclusive stories for everyone to enjoy.

World Book Day 2021 activities

Image: Getty

Start your own book

Has your young reader been harbouring fantasies of becoming an author or illustrator when they grow up? World Book Day is the perfect day to encourage them to create their own stories. Find some writing prompts online or check out our how-to’s for budding writers. And then for the artists, we’ve got some fabulous drawing tutorials. Children could even copy the illustrations from their favourite books to hone their drawing skills and get those creative juices flowing.

Test your book knowledge

They say they’re a bookworm but do they know Roald Dahl from Rick Riordan? What’s the name of the fearsome teacher in Matilda? And who is Greg Heffley’s best friend? Try our ultimate Puffin books quiz, Part 1 and Part 2 and test their knowledge on all things books-related. We’ve also got a host of other fantastic quizzes here and the World Book Day team have their own big bonanza quiz. To make it personal, you could put together a quiz on their favourite books and reward them with a prize for getting the questions right.  

World Book Day 2021 activities

Image: Getty

Have a book-themed film night

Some of the greatest films have been adapted from books. So, at the end of the day, settle down on the sofa and have a book-themed film night. Watch a film whose original book your children have read, and then compare the differences together. Or watch a film whose book version you think they’d like. This is a great way to diversify their reading interests, and it will allow you to spend some quality time together as a family.

Read, read and read some more!

The easiest way to celebrate World Book Day is, of course, to read! Read as much as you can together – whether it's old favourites or something brand new, nothing beats curling up with a good book.  

Don’t forget to check out all of the World Book Day team’s resources – from activity packs to extracts, there’s something for every reader!

  • Little Badman and the Radioactive Samosa

    Little Badman

  • *Meet Little Badman in this hilarious and action-packed mini adventure, for fans of David Baddiel and David Walliams*

    Praise for Little Badman and the Invasion of the Killer Aunties:

    'Wildly over the top and satisfying' The Observer New Review Children's Book of the Month

    'This book is bonkers but proper funny- it's Drake meets James Bond' Match of the Day Magazine

    ________


    You've heard of Little Badman, right? No? Oh. Well. . . Doesn't matter. You will do one day. He's gonna be big.

    You've heard of Little Badman, right? No? Oh. Well. . . Doesn't matter. You will do one day. He's gonna be big.

    Little Badman, aka Humza Khan, has saved the world TWICE.

    So it's lucky when Humza and his friends narrowly avoid being hit by rock from outer-space. What does get hit is a box of delicious samosas, which turn . . .

    Radioactive! Now the trio have superpowers, which is pretty cool. What's less cool is the giant hamsters on the loose. Looks like a job for Little Badman and his crew.

  • Buy the book
  • There's a Wolf in Your Book: World Book Day 2021

  • From bestselling creators of There's a Monster in Your Book and There's a Dragon in Your Book comes this brand new mini picture book - created especially for World Book Day 2021.

    LOOK!
    Who's that inside your book?
    It's Monster, Dragon, Alien, and Witch.
    And... WOW! They have made you a book! A book inside a book! (I wonder what could be inside?)

    Explore this interactive adventure and help the friends as they try and get rid of the BIG BAD WOLF that has taken over their book! This celebration of reading, performing, and dressing up has been written specially for World Book Day 2021.

    Who's in Your Book?
    Interactive adventures for big imaginations


    Also in this series:
    There's a Monster in Your Book: makes reading interactive and fun
    There's a Dragon in Your Book: explores empathy and responsibility
    There's an Alien in Your Book: explores acceptance and inclusion
    There's an Elf in Your Book: explores following instructions and good/bad behaviour
    There's a Superhero in Your Book: explores the power of kindness
    There's a Witch in Your Book: makes tidying up fun

  • Buy the book

Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising