Michael Sheen shortlisted for Audiobook Narrator of the Year


Michael Sheen, narrator of Philip Pullman‘s triumphant new novel La Belle Sauvage, has been shortlisted for the Audiobook Narrator of the Year award at this year’s Audio Production Awards.

Now in their ninth year, the Audio Production Awards celebrate outstanding achievements in audio and radio production. Penguin Random House has received several nods in the past, including one for Roy McMillan in the Audiobook Producer of the Year category, and Daniel Weyman, who won last year’s Narrator of the Year award.

Michael’s spine-tinglingly brilliant performance of The Book of Dust has been praised by fans and the media alike, with calling it ‘better than an army of actors‘ this week. The audiobook was a number one bestseller from the day of publication and has already received over a thousand 5 star ratings on Audible.

The other actors shortlisted in the award are:

Adam Sims  Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes (ID Audio)

Aysha Kala – The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy (ID Audio)

Cathleen McCarron – Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman (HarperCollins)

Emma Swan – Fools Fall in Love by Freda Lightfoot (RNIB)

Hugh Bonneville – Paddington by Michael Bond (HarperCollins)

The winner will be announced on 23rd November.

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more