On Tuesday the finalists or the National Book Critics Circle Awards were announced, with Yaa Gyasi’s Homegoing being awarded the John Leonard Prize, which recognises outstanding first books in any genre. The win for her debut novel comes after a vote by more than 700 NBCC members nationwide.

The list of finalists who will be competing for a win in six categories – autobiography, biography, fiction, nonfiction, poetry and criticism – include some of the world’s most acclaimed authors like Zadie Smith and Hisham Matar, with Margaret Atwood receiving the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement award.

More information can be found on the NBCC website here.

Press Enquiries

For more information on this story please get in touch via our media contacts.

Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising