Promotional image for Big Sky by Kate Atkinson

Transworld have today (4 December) confirmed the publication of a new Jackson Brodie novel by Kate Atkinson, to be published on 18 June 2019 by Doubleday.

The novel sees Kate Atkinson, bestselling author of A God in Ruins, Life After Life and Behind the Scenes at the Museum, return to the world of Jackson Brodie, one of her most iconic characters and star of four of her previous books: Case Histories, One Good Turn, When Will There Be Good News, and Started Early, Took My Dog.

A private investigator and former soldier and policeman, Jackson Brodie now makes his money working from investigating infidelity and finding missing cats. Jackson's tough-guy exterior belies a deeply empathetic heart. He's unable to resist coming to the rescue and increasingly he becomes a magnet for the bereaved, the lost and the dysfunctional. His ability to connect comes from his own tragic childhood that still haunts him. He was previously played by Jason Isaacs in the BBC TV series of Case Histories.

Author Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson, credit: Helen Clyne

Kate Atkinson won the Costa (formerly the Whitbread) Book of the Year prize with her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum. Her 2013 novel Life After Life spent a record number of weeks on top of the bestsellers lists on both sides of the Atlantic, and won the South Bank Sky Arts Literature Prize and the Costa Novel Award, a prize Kate Atkinson won again in 2015 for A God in Ruins. Her latest novel, Transcription, was published earlier this year.

Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising