Dark tales for darker nights

 

As the dark nights draw in, let your imagination delve between the pages of these chilling worlds...

 

 

The Bear and the Nightingale

Katherine Arden

Dark, intriguing and full of magic, The Bear and the Nightingale is the perfect fairy tale retelling to curl up with on a chilly winter's night. Set in the wild and icy wilderness of northern Russia, and telling the story of the young and equally wild Vasya, you'll get caught up in the tales of frost-demons, house spirits and cosy fires burning during winters that last for months...

 

Hush Little Baby

Joanna Barnard

This is gripping domestic suspense at its best, and a book you won't be able to put down. When baby Oliver breaks his arm, nobody can (or is prepared to) explain how it happened. His mother is exhausted, his father is angry, and his sister is resentful, and they all have something to hide. The story revolves around the social services system and the mystery as to who actually did it. It's well-written, believable, and cleverly explores all the taboos of parenthood. You'll be thinking about it long after you close the book.

 

The Midnight Line

Lee Child

When Jack Reacher, still reeling from the events in Make Me, comes across a woman's West Point class ring in a pawn shop window, he becomes obsessed with figuring out why she would be willing to sell something she worked hard for. On the quest for a simple justice, Reacher follows this mystery all the way to the deserted wilds of Wyoming. This thrilling story of a battle-worn hero on the search for redemption is the perfect page turner for cold winter nights...

 

Hiding in Plain Sight

Susan Lewis

Andee is loving her summer, renovating a villa in France with the new man in her life. Things are going well. But when she hears two words in the back of a car one day, her world is turned inside out. Because thirty years ago Penny disappeared, and now she seems to be back...It's a shocking and addictive read that you'll race through on a dark autumnal night. We couldn't put it down.

 

The Marriage Pact

Michelle Richmond

If an intriguing thriller is what you're after to while away the autumn evenings, this is the book for you. It's expertly plotted and fantastically fast-moving, and you won't be able to tear yourself away. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, it explores what it really means to say 'I do'. Newlyweds Jake and Alice join a club which promises they'll never divorce. But when one of them breaks the rules, it's not just their vows that they've broken... (Warning: don't start it late at night else you'll be reading until morning.)

 

My Husband's Wife

Jane Corry

What if your life was built on a lie? When lawyer Lily marries Ed, she's determined to leave her dark past behind her. However, when she finds herself strangely drawn to a client that's been accused of murder, the double life that she's been leading becomes more and more difficult to maintain. Deliciously twisty and sure to keep you guessing, this is the kind of book that you'll race through in one breathless sitting.

 

Wuthering Heights

Emily Brontë

There's nothing like re-reading a beloved classic throughout the cold winter months, and Wuthering Heights is one we come back to again and again. Set on the wild, windy moors of England, it's a tragic love story between Cathy and Heathcliff, two people made for each other but torn apart by prejudice, judgement and their own ill-fated decisions. It's a ghostly but memorable tale, perfect for reading by a roaring fire.

 

The Woman in Cabin 10

Ruth Ware

Unsettling, heart-pounding and a downright excellent read, The Woman in Cabin in 10 is a page turner if ever there was one. Lo is on a cruise of the Northern Lights when she hears screams in the night, and rushes to see a body being thrown overboard. But the next day, she's told no passengers are missing. And that nobody was checked into the cabin next door, where she saw it all happen...It's tense, it's moody, and you'll root for Lo right the way through.

 

.

Love books like these? 

Sign up for Page Turners - every month we'll choose a book we think you'll love and offer you the ebook at an amazingly low price.

 

You might also like