On writing

Jane Corry on how working in a prison inspired her to write a psychological thriller

The author of My Husband's Wife shares her experience of teaching English to inmates and how it left a lasting impact on her life and writing.
 

It’s 7am and I am pulling up in the staff car park. In front of me is a high concrete wall fringed on the top with barbed wire.

Last week, I was writing my weekly column for Woman magazine. Right now, it’s the first day of my new job as writer in residence for a high security male prison. Two days a week for three years.

How fast life can change.

When my marriage ended after twenty-seven years, I found myself in need of more regular work. A neighbour pointed out a job advert in a national newspaper for a writer to run therapeutic workshops for prisoners. And now here I am….

I walk up to the door in the middle of the huge walls. There’s a bell. I press it. It’s opened by a burly officer. A woman. I’m directed to a glass screen where I give my name and ‘purpose’.

My bags are searched. My laptop, umbrella and part of my packed lunch are confiscated. Laptops aren’t allowed in prison unless you have special permission because prisoners might use them to send emails. Umbrellas could be used as weapons. And the fork in my lunch box for my tuna salad could be used to stab someone in the eye.

Then I’m frisked. I am wearing trousers because common sense tells me that if someone attacked me, I might have more time to defend myself than if I was wearing a skirt.

Two keys are slid under the glass partition. One is a key to the main doors inside the prison. The other is the key to the staff lounge. I have to sign for them. The responsibility is so daunting that my fingers shake as I attach them to the leather belt around my waist. There’s also a whistle. This is my only defence if things go wrong. When I run my workshops there will be no officers present.

We’re at the gate of D wing now.  A man is hovering as I lock the doors behind me. He is lanky with tattoos down his arm. ‘Are you the writing lady?’ he says. ‘Gotta write a letter for my missus. Can you help?’

 


This was a place where emotions were challenged. I found myself grieving for someone who had destroyed someone else’s family.

 

Over the next three years, I come across situations and people who are so extraordinary that they defy belief. There was the company director who turned to robbery because he ‘got bored’. There was the middle-aged university graduate who - according to rumour - was in for serial killings. There was a man in his forties who had been in and out of care all his life and had been illiterate until a prison officer had taught him to read and write. (What a wonderful thing to do!). There was the solicitor who helped a youth to write down his poetry because he too was illiterate.

One day I came in to find a hushed air in the prison. An inmate had killed another. Both apparently, were in for murder in the first place. This was a place where emotions were challenged. I found myself grieving for someone who had destroyed someone else’s family.

During my second year, I was asked to spend the night in the prison by the governor as part of a charity fundraising drive to pay for my post. It was difficult to say ‘no’ even though I wasn’t keen. I had dinner with the men and was then led to a cell which was electronically locked until 7am. If I needed the loo, there was a bowl beneath the bed. I hung on. As I couldn’t sleep, I wrote for most of the night, feeling claustrophobic and panicky. When I went home, I sat in the bath for hours to wash away the grime in my head. (I have used this experience in my next novel Blood Sisters.)

Feelings run high in prison. When I first started, I was told that men either discovered the gym or God. So I asked my students to write down prayers or sayings which helped them through the day. I also got staff to contribute, including the governor. The result was The Book of Uncommon Prayer. It would be wonderful if it could be published.

I do miss prison but I don’t want to go back even though it continues to haunt me. I am now a co-life story judge for the Koestler Awards, which are given to men and women in prison for art and writing. I have just finished judging this year’s awards which will be announced in August. There will be an exhibition in the South Bank from September onwards which is being curated by ex-offenders. Definitely worth a visit.

It’s hard for a writer not to write about a situation like this but I didn’t want a straight-forward crime book. I wanted to explore family relations and push them to the limits - both emotionally and legally. I won’t say more because I don’t want to give away the plot. But I couldn’t have written My Husband’s Wife without my three years inside - or without getting married again to my wonderful warm, funny man who totally understands when I disappear up to my study for hours.

Happy reading.

 

My Husband's Wife

Jane Corry

FIRST COMES LOVE. THEN COMES MARRIAGE. THEN COMES MURDER.
'100 per cent recommend to all readers' 5* Amazon review

THE SUNDAY TIMES TOP TO BESTSELLING THRILLER

What if your life was built on a lie?

When lawyer Lily marries Ed, she's determined to make a fresh start. To leave the secrets of the past behind.

But when she takes on her first criminal case, she starts to find herself strangely drawn to her client. A man who's accused of murder. A man she will soon be willing to risk everything for.

But is he really innocent?

And who is she to judge?

MY HUSBAND'S WIFE is a thriller with so many twists you won't be able to put it down, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Clare Mackintosh and C. L. Taylor.

'A rollercoaster of dramatic twists...chilling and suspenseful' Elizabeth Haynes

'My head's still spinning from all the twists!' Mark Edwards

'A dark, complex and compelling thriller that kept me turning the pages until the end' B A Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors

'Twisty, feverish and utterly gripping, My Husband's Wife is the perfect summer read' Eva Dolan

'This thrilling page-turner kept me guessing till the very end' Katerina Diamond

'A fantastic and powerful novel of heart-pounding suspense, expertly written to draw the reader in and never let go!' Kathryn Croft

'I have been thoroughly immersed in this novel...full of unexpected twists I didn't see coming! '
Luana Lewis

'My Husband's Wife had me gripped from the first page to the last. A fascinating cast of characters, each concealing a dark secret...' Ava Marsh

'Gripping and compelling, My Husband's Wife is a fascinating tale that you will think about long after turning the final page' Rowan Coleman

'My Husband's Wife is a thrilling page-turner that chronicles the nightmarish dynamics within a marriage.' Sarah Ward

'Corry has written a very impressive debut. I couldn't put it down!' LJ Ross

'A dark and gripping thriller that vibrates with tension. Jane Corry has created an exciting and complex tale that sank its teeth into me on the first page and never let go...A must-read for thriller lovers' Kate Furnivall

'[A] roller coaster of suspense and intrigue... A cleverly constructed novel in which we have no idea who we can trust' Rosanna Ley

'The two strong women characters and the twists and turns of the plot will keep you on the edge of your seat right through to the surprising and shocking ending' Mavis Cheek

'Pick up this book and you won't be able to put it down. A fast-moving story of drama, suspense and emotional entanglement with a good sprinkling of evil threaded through' Sandra Howard

'A compelling thriller! I thoroughly enjoyed every fast turning page' Vanessa Ronan, author of The Last Days of Summer

'A gripping page turner that twists and turns right until the very end' Catherine Alliott

Find out more about the author

Related features