Alice Walker

Possessing The Secret Of Joy
  • Possessing The Secret Of Joy

  • When Alice Walker finished writing The Color Purple she realised that she needed to tell the story of Tashi, a minor character, who had "left Africa but had taken her wound with her to America". This is Tashi's story, told in her words and the voices of the people who loved her. This extraordinarily courageous and compelling novel explores the tragic consequences of Tashi's decision to go through the female initiation ceremony.

Alice Walker is the author of seven novels, including Pulitzer Prize winnner The Color Purple, The Third Life of Grange Copeland and Now is the Time to Open Your Heart; three collections of short stories, In Love & Trouble, You Can't Keep A Good Woman Down and The Way Forward is with a Broken Heart; as well as eight volumes of poetry. Alice Walker lives in Northern California.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising