Bert Coules

The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
  • The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

    • Bert Coules

    • Andrew Sachs (Read by)

    • Clive Merrison (Read by)

    • Full Cast (Read by)

    A gripping collection of fifteen BBC Radio full-cast dramas written by Bert Coules, inspired by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's original stories.

    In the fifty-six short stories and four novels Arthur Conan Doyle wrote about his great detective, how many times did Dr John Watson tantalise us with references to cases which were never written about in full? These original adventures flesh out those unrecorded cases to wonderful effect.

    Clive Merrison plays the great sleuth hiimself, with Andrew Sachs in the role of Doctor Watson. The star casts include Tom Baker, Jane Asher, Tim West, Toyah Willcox, Lindsay Duncan and Mark Gatiss.

    The stories in this collection are:

    The Madness of Colonel Warburton
    The Star of the Adelphi
    The Saviour of Cripplegate Square
    The Singular Inheritance of Miss Gloria Watson
    The Abergavenny Murder
    The Shameful Betrayal of Miss Emily Smith
    The Tragedy of Hanbury Street
    The Determined Client
    The Striking Success of Miss Franny Blossom
    Thirteen Watches
    Peculiar Persecution of Mr John Vincent Harden
    The Ferrers Documents
    The Remarkable Performance of Mr Frederick Merridew
    The Eyes of Horus
    The Marlbourne Point Mystery

    'A joy from beginning to end ... ingenious extensions of the Conan Doyle originals' - Daily Telegraph

Arthur Conan Doyle was born on 22 May 1859 in Edinburgh into a prosperous Irish family. He trained as a doctor, gaining his degree from Edinburgh University in 1881. He worked as a surgeon on a whaling boat and also as a medical officer on a steamer travelling between Liverpool and West Africa. He then settled in Portsmouth on the English south coast and divided his time between medicine and writing. Sherlock Holmes made his first appearance in 'A Study of Scarlet', published in 'Beeton's Christmas Annual' in 1887. Its success encouraged Conan Doyle to write more stories involving Holmes but, in 1893, Conan Doyle killed off Holmes, hoping to concentrate on more serious writing. A public outcry later made him resurrect Holmes. In addition, Conan Doyle wrote a number of other novels, including 'The Lost World' and various non-fictional works. These included a pamphlet justifying Britain's involvement in the Boer War, for which he was knighted and histories of the Boer War and World War One, in which his son, brother and two of his nephews were killed. Conan Doyle also twice ran unsuccessfully for parliament. In later life he became very interested in spiritualism. Conan Doyle died of a heart attack on 7 July 1930.