Gerry Davis

Doctor Who: The Second History Collection
  • Doctor Who: The Second History Collection

  • Five exciting novelisations set in Earth's past history, featuring the Doctor and his companions.

    In Doctor Who - The Gunfighters the TARDIS arrives in the heart of the Old Wild West, just as Wyatt Earp's in town.

    In Doctor Who - The Highlanders the scene is the Battle of Culloden, 1746, where the Scots are fighting the English.

    In Doctor Who and the War Games the Doctor and friends seem to arrive in the trenches of the First World War, but appearances can be deceptive.

    Doctor Who and the Talons of Weng-Chiang takes the Doctor and Leela to Victorian London, and a battle with a foe from the future.

    Finally, in Doctor Who - Black Orchid, the Fifth Doctor and friends are entertained at a 1920s country house - where murder is afoot.

    Shane Rimmer, Anneke Wills, David Troughton, Christopher Benjamin and Michael Cochrane are the readers of these five classic stories, first published as Target Books paperbacks.

    Running time: 21 hours 40 mins approx.
    (P) 2020 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd
    © 2020 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd
    Cover illustration by John Geary

Malcolm Hulke (Author) Malcolm Hulke was a prolific and respected television writer from the 1950s until the 1970s. His writing credits included the early science fiction Pathfinders series, as well as The Avengers. Hulke was first approached to write for Doctor Who when the series first started, but his idea for The Hidden Planet was not pursued. In 1967 he wrote The Faceless Ones (with David Ellis) for the Second Doctor. By 1969, Hulke's friend and occasional writing partner Terrance Dicks was Script Editor for Doctor Who and needed a ten part story to replace other scripts and write out Patrick Troughton's Doctor. Together, they wrote The War Games, which for the first time explained the Doctor's origins and introduced his people, the Time Lords. Hulke continued to write for Doctor Who, providing a story for each of the Third Doctor's series. Malcolm Hulke died in 1979, soon after completing his novelisation of The War Games. Terrance Dicks (Author) Terrance Dicks became Script Editor of Doctor Who in 1968, co-writing Patrick Troughton’s classic final serial, The War Games, and editing the show throughout the entire Jon Pertwee era to 1974. He wrote many iconic episodes and serials for the show after, including Tom Baker's first episode as the Fourth Doctor, Robot; Horror at Fang Rock in 1977; State of Decay in 1980; and the 20th anniversary special, The Five Doctors in 1983. Terrance novelised over sixty of the original Doctor Who stories for Target books, including classics like Doctor Who and the Abominable Snowmen and Doctor Who and the Auton Invasion, inspiring a generation of children to become readers and writers. He died in August 2019, only weeks before the publication of his final Doctor Who short story, ‘Save Yourself’, in The Target Storybook. Terence Dudley (Author) Terence Dudley was already a seasoned TV professional by the time he came to work on Doctor Who. He started out in the 1950s as a playwright and soon went into scriptwriting, his early credits including The River Flows East for the BBC in 1962. He became a BBC staff producer/director in the early 1960s and thereafter pursued parallel writing and directing careers. In 1963 he was invited by Doctor Who's original producer, Verity Lambert, to write the series' very first story (as a replacement for Antony Coburn's 100,000 BC) but declined. Directing credits included Maigret (1963), Dr Finlay's Casebook, The Troublemakers (1966), Vendetta (1966-67), Softly, Softly (1967-68) and The First Lady (1968). Directing led on to producing, and he spend periods of time in charge of series such as Cluff (1964), The Mask of Janus (1965), Doomwatch (1970-72), The Regiment (1973) and Survivors (1975-1977) - for some of which he also wrote and directed. After Survivors he left the BBC to become a freelancesdirector. Apart from Doctor Who, other productions on which he worked in that capacity included Flesh and Blood (1980) and All Creatures Great and Small. He died on Christmas Day 1988. (Author biography by David J. Howe, author of The Target Book, the complete illustrate guide to the Target Doctor Who novelisations.)

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising