Deborah Install

A Robot In The Garden
  • A Robot In The Garden

  • For fans of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS and ELINOR OLIPHANT

    'A MOST UNUSUAL AND DELIGHTFUL BOOK' Alexander McCall Smith

    Funny, touching, charming, wise, this is a novel that explores what it is to be a parent, a friend, a human. A gem of a first novel, especially for anyone who has ever found it difficult to connect with the world.

    For fans of THE ROSIE PROJECT, THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS and ELINOR OLIPHANT

    Ben Chambers wakes up to find an unfamiliar object - rusty and lost - sitting underneath the willow tree in his garden. Refusing to throw it on the skip as his wife Amy advises, he takes it home.


    Ben does not want children, or even a job, and now he has found yet another reason to stay in his study and ignore everyone around him. This new-found object, a live and needy robot, becomes his new friend.


    It is only when Amy walks out that Ben realises he has now alienated all the human beings in his life. He has only one friend left.

    This is the story of an unlikely friendship, and how one man opens his heart to a past he did not want, and a future he knows is his..

    READERS LOVE IT TOO:

    Tthere were a lot of funny parts in this book and i did not want it to end' 5 *****
    'A lovely book about friendship and discovery. Heartwarming' 4 ****
    'i knew nothing about this book when i started it and i could not put it down' 5 ****
    'Wonderful. i did not want it to stop' 5 ****
    'The characters are drawn with such tenderness' 5 ****

Deborah Install has worked as a website copywriter. Her debut novel, A ROBOT IN THE GARDEN, is inspired by her own young son. She lives in Birmingham with her family where she bakes good cakes and writes even better books.