Rachel Rhys

Island of Secrets
  • Island of Secrets

  • 'Rachel Rhys should be on everyone's summer reading lists' CLARE MACKINTOSH

    Set in the exotic city of Havana on the cusp of revolution, an English woman discovers mystery, romance and scandal in the atmospheric new novel by Rachel Rhys for fans of Dinah Jeffries, Lucinda Riley and Santa Montefiore

    Say, wouldn’t it be a gas if all of us here are pretending to be something we’re not?

    1957: Iris Bailey is bored to death of working in the typing pool and living with her parents in Hemel Hempstead. A gifted portraitist with a talent for sketching guests at parties, she dreams of becoming an artist. So she can’t believe her luck when wealthy socialite Nell Hardman invites her to Havana to draw at the glittering wedding of her Hollywood director father.

    Iris is thrilled to escape to a faraway city by the sea. But she soon realizes that the cocktails, tropical scents and azure skies mask a darker reality. As Cuba teeters on the edge of revolution and Iris’s heart melts for troubled photographer Joe, she discovers that someone in the charismatic Hardman family is hiding a terrible secret. Can she uncover the ugly truth behind the glamour and the dazzle before all their lives are torn apart?

    PRAISE FOR RACHEL RHYS:

    'Intoxicating' SANTA MONTEFIORE
    'Transporting' SUNDAY TIMES
    'A fabulous summer read' DAILY EXPRESS
    'Escapist fun' SUNDAY EXPRESS
    'Delicious' SARRA MANNING

RELEASED 25/06/2020

RACHEL RHYS is the pen-name of a much-loved psychological suspense author. She is the author of the Richard and Judy bookclub pick, Dangerous Crossing and the bestselling A Fatal Inheritance. Rachel Rhys lives in North London with her family.