Caroline Lea

The Glass Woman
  • The Glass Woman

  • 'Crackles with tension. Moving and atmospheric, I couldn't put it down' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions and The Corset

    A rich and captivating tale of superstition and salvation, love and fear, for fans of The Binding, The Miniaturist and The Silent Companions.

    1686, Iceland.

    An isolated, windswept land haunted by witch trials and steeped in the ancient sagas . . .
    ____________

    Betrothed unexpectedly to Jón Eiríksson, Rósa is sent to join her new husband in the remote village of Stykkishólmur. Here, the villagers are wary of outsiders.

    But Rósa harbours her own suspicions. Her husband buried his first wife alone in the dead of night. He will not speak of it.

    The villagers mistrust them both. Dark threats are whispered. There is an evil here - Rósa can feel it. Is it her husband, the villagers - or the land itself?

    Alone and far from home, Rósa sees the darkness coming.

    She fears she will be its next victim . . .
    ____________

    'A fantastic, atmospheric debut' The Times

    'An enthralling tale of the Icelandic witch trials' Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Familiars

    'Gripped me in a cold fist. Beautiful' Sara Collins, author of The Confessions of Frannie Langton

    'Evocative, compelling, with a brilliant twist' Daily Express

    'Memorable and compelling. A novel about what haunts us - and what should' Sarah Moss, author of Ghost Wall

    'Intensely written and atmospheric, with an unusual setting, this is a stark evocation of a community where fear of the outsider is rife and unsettling' Daily Mail

Caroline Lea grew up in Jersey and gained a First in English Literature and Creative Writing from Warwick University, where she now teaches writing. Her fiction and poetry have been shortlisted for the Bridport Prize.