Caroline Lea

The Glass Woman
  • The Glass Woman

  • 'A fantastic, atmospheric debut' The Times

    A rich and captivating tale of superstition and salvation, love and fear, for fans of The Binding, The Miniaturist and The Silent Companions.

    1686, Iceland.

    An isolated, windswept land haunted by witch trials and steeped in the ancient sagas . . .
    ____________

    Betrothed unexpectedly to Jón Eiríksson, Rósa is sent to join her new husband in the remote village of Stykkishólmur. Here, the villagers are wary of outsiders.

    But Rósa harbours her own suspicions. Her husband buried his first wife alone in the dead of night. He will not speak of it.

    The villagers mistrust them both. Dark threats are whispered. There is an evil here - Rósa can feel it. Is it her husband, the villagers - or the land itself?

    Alone and far from home, Rósa sees the darkness coming.

    She fears she will be its next victim . . .
    ____________

    'A suspenseful read' Sunday Express

    'Evocative, compelling, with a brilliant twist' Daily Express

    'Memorable and compelling. A novel about what haunts us - and what should' Sarah Moss, author of Ghost Wall

    'Intensely written and atmospheric, with an unusual setting, this is a stark evocation of a community where fear of the outsider is rife and unsettling' Daily Mail

    'A chilling tale' Good Housekeeping

    'Utterly unputdownable. Rich in superstition and mystery, it pulled me in. An incredible novel' Ali Land, author of Good Me Bad Me

    'Haunting, evocative and utterly compelling. The Glass Woman transports the reader to a time and place steeped in mystery, where nothing is ever quite as it seems. Stunning' Tracy Borman, author of The King's Witch

    'Like a ghost story told around a winter fire, The Glass Woman is taut, haunting, and broodingly tense. Playing out against the harsh backdrop of the Icelandic winter, it kept me hooked all the way to the end' Tim Leach, author of Smile of the Wolf

RELEASED 14/11/2019

Caroline Lea grew up in Jersey and gained a First in English Literature and Creative Writing from Warwick University, where she now teaches writing. Her fiction and poetry have been shortlisted for the Bridport Prize.