Sarah Elaine Smith

Marilou is Everywhere
  • Marilou is Everywhere

  • SHORTLISTED FOR THE LA TIMES BOOK PRIZE

    For fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous, a richly atmospheric debut about lost innocence and rural America...

    'Remarkable. This novel reads like a miracle' NPR

    'Brimming with longing, with heartbreak' New York Times


    Jude is popular, beautiful, wealthier than most in Deep Valley. Cindy is Jude's neighbour - younger, poorer, a kid from the kind of family everyone knows will come to no good. Jude is black and Cindy is white.

    One summer, Jude disappears. Search parties go out but come back empty-handed and strangely pleased. Jude thought she was better than everyone else. Look at her now. Meanwhile Cindy is performing a vanishing act of her own. She is slipping out of her old life and into someone else's. She is becoming Jude...

    'Lyrical, sexy, humane, and just a total pleasure to read' Elif Batuman, author of The Idiot

    'One of the most exquisitely written books I've read in a long time. A haunting novel about craving escape so badly you're willing to erase yourself, by a writer I would follow anywhere' Julie Buntin, author of Marlena

Sarah Elaine Smith holds MFAs in fiction from the Iowa Writers' Workshop and poetry from the Michener Center for Writers. She is also a recipient of a Rona Jaffe Wallace Fellowship and a teaching-writing fellowship, in addition to the Keene Prize for Literature, the Roy Crane Prize, the Richard Yates Prize for Short Fiction and the Cleveland State University Poetry Center's First Book Prize. Her work has appeared in Tin House, FENCE, Best New Poets and others, and she is the author of one poetry collection, I Live in a Hut. She lives in Pittsburgh.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising