Avni Doshi

Burnt Sugar
  • Burnt Sugar


  • SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020

    LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2021

    WINNER OF THE SUSHILA DEVI AWARD 2021

    A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Jenny Offill, Deborah Levy, Rachel Cusk and Diana Evans

    'Beautifully written, emotionally wrenching and poignant in equal measure' The Booker Prize Judges 2020

    'An unsettling, sinewy debut, startling in its venom and disarming in its humour from the very first sentence' Guardian

    'I would be lying if I said my mother's misery has never given me pleasure.'

    This is a tale of obsession and betrayal. This is a poisoned love story. But not between lovers - between mother and daughter.

    Tara and Antara, the woman and her angry shadow. But which one is which?

    Sharp as a blade and compulsively readable, Burnt Sugar slowly untangles the knot of memory and fiction that binds two women together, revealing the truth that lies beneath.

    'A work of extraordinary insight, courage and sophistication' Washington Post

    'Arresting and fiercely intelligent, disarmingly witty and frank' Sunday Times


    'A sly, slippery, often heartbreaking novel about the role memory plays within families' Stylist

    'Extraordinary... Come for the effortlessly stylish writing, stay for the boiling wrath' Observer

Avni Doshi was born in New Jersey in 1982 and is currently based in Dubai. She won the Tibor Jones South Asia Prize in 2013 and a Charles Pick Fellowship at the University of East Anglia in 2014. Her debut novel, Burnt Sugar, was shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2020. The novel is published in India as Girl in White Cotton, where it won the Sushila Devi Award 2021.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising