Charlotte Brontë

  • Independence

  • ‘I care for myself. The more solitary, the more friendless, the more unsustained I am, the more I will respect myself.’
    We collect some of the most heartening statements of independence from Brontë’s heroines Jane Eyre and Lucy Snowe as in the face of temptation, hardship and heartache they cling determinedly to their own principles.

    Selected from Charlotte Brontë Jane Eyre and Villette.


    A series of short books by the world’s greatest writers on the experiences that make us human

    Also in the Vintage Minis series:
    Sisters by Louisa May Alcott
    Freedom by Margaret Atwood
    Marriage by Jane Austen
    Liberty by Virginia Woolf

RELEASED 05/03/2020

Charlotte Brontë was born in Yorkshire in 1816. As a child, she was sent to boarding school, where two of her sisters died; she was subsequently educated at home with her younger siblings, Emily, Branwell and Anne. As an adult, Charlotte worked as a governess and taught in a school in Brussels. Jane Eyre was first published in 1847 under the pen-name Currer Bell, and was followed by Shirley (1848), Villette (1853) and The Professor (posthumously published in 1857). In 1854 Charlotte married her father's curate, Arthur Bell Nicholls. She died in March of the following year.