Books

Heroes of the Frontier

Dave Eggers

From the bestselling author of The Circle, a hilarious and heart-warming misadventure through modern America: it's time for the family vacation...

Josie's life is falling apart - lawsuits raining down, her business down the drain and a feckless husband long gone - so she gathers up her two kids and lights out for the wilderness. The Alaskan wilderness, to be specific.

This is a story about the trip of a lifetime. It involves one battered old RV, one highly sensitive eight year old boy, one fearless and hyperactive five year old girl, several forest fires, a large supply of pinot noir, and a deeply misguided sense of optimism. It may well be that things don't turn out quite as Josie expected - but then again, some of the best places in the world are found at the end of a road you didn't mean to take...

Heroes of the Frontier is an uproariously funny portrait of modern America and the modern family, an entirely contemporary novel gleaming with Dave Eggers' trademark intelligence and originality.

A Hologram for the King

Dave Eggers

In a rising Saudi Arabian city, far from weary, recession-scarred America, a struggling businessman pursues a last-ditch attempt to stave off foreclosure, pay his daughter's college tuition, and finally do something great.

In this critically-acclaimed novel, Dave Eggers takes us around the world to show how one man fights to hold himself and his splintering family together in the face of the global economy's gale-force winds. This taut, richly layered, and elegiac novel is a powerful evocation of our contemporary moment - and a moving story of how we got here.

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

Dave Eggers

Your Fathers, Where Are They is Dave Eggers's brilliantly executed story of one man struggling to make sense of the world.

In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him. Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. But the ocean is close by, and nobody can hear him over the waves and wind. Thomas apologizes. He didn't want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn't answer his messages. And now, if Kev can just stop yelling, Thomas has a few questions.

'With each tightly controlled book, Eggers's fiction becomes more prescient, moving and unsettling . . . Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now?' Independent

'An angry and astute investigation into the state of America . . . Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola' Mark Lawson, Guardian

'One of our fiercest and most compelling writers' Sunday Times

Dave Eggers is the author of nine books, including most recently The Circle and A Hologram for the King, which was a finalist for the 2012 National Book Award. He is the founder of McSweeney's, an independent publishing company based in San Francisco that produces books, a quarterly journal of new writing (McSweeney's Quarterly Concern), and a monthly magazine, The Believer. He lives in Northern California with his family.

The Circle

Dave Eggers

When Mae is hired to work for the Circle, the world's most powerful internet company, she feels she's been given the opportunity of a lifetime. Run out of a sprawling California campus, the Circle links users' personal emails, social media, and finances with their universal operating system, resulting in one online identity and a new age of transparency. Mae can't believe her great fortune to work for them - even as life beyond the campus grows distant, even as a strange encounter with a colleague leaves her shaken, even as her role at the Circle becomes increasingly public ...

Zeitoun

Dave Eggers

Dave Eggers's Zeitoun is the winner of the American Book Award and the LA Times Book Award

In August 2005, as Hurricane Katrina blew in, the city of New Orleans has been abandoned by most citizens. But resident Abdulrahman Zeitoun, though his wife and family had gone, refused to leave. For days he traversed an apocalyptic landscape of flooded streets by canoe. But eventually he came to the attention of those 'guarding' this drowned city. Only then did Zeitoun's nightmare really begin.

Zeitoun is the powerful, ultimately uplifting true story of one man's courage when confronted with an awesome force of nature followed by more troubling human oppression.

'Eggers uses Zeitoun's eyes to report on America's reasonless post-Katrina world, Reminiscent of Gabriel Garcia Márquez's documentaries, this is a true story told with the skills of a master of fiction. Immensely readable' Independent

'Masterly. Brilliantly crafted, powerfully written and deftly reported' Guardian

'The stuff of great narrative non-fiction. Fifty years from now, when people want to know what happened to this once-great city, they will be talking about a family named Zeitoun' The New York Times Book Review

The Wild Things

Dave Eggers

The Wild Things by Dave Eggers is the novelisation of Maurice Sendak's classic

Max likes to make noise, get dirty, ride his bike without a helmet and howl like a wolf. In any other age he would have just been considered a boy. These days he is considered wilful and deranged.

After a row with his mother, Max runs away. He jumps into a boat and sails across the ocean to a strange island where giant and destructive beasts reign - the Wild Things. After almost being eaten, Max gains their trust, and he is made their king. But what will he do with the responsibility?

'A life-affirming delight' GQ

'Compelling, fantastical, engrossing' Shortlist

'Let the wild rumpus start!' Grazia

McSweeney's Issue 28

PENGUIN GROUP (UK) (and others)

In eight illustrated books, elegantly held together in a single beribboned case and featuring work by Daniel Alarcon, Sheila Heti and Nathan Englander, McSweeney's 28 explores the state of the fable – those astute and irreducible allegories one doesn't see so much anymore in our strange new age, when everyone is wild for the latest parable or apologue but can't find time for anything else.

What is the What

Dave Eggers

What is the What is Dave Eggers's astonishing novel about one of the world's most brutal civil wars

Valentino Achak Deng is just a boy when conflict separates him from his family and forces him to leave his small Sudanese village, joining thousands of other orphans on their long, long walk to Ethiopia, where they find safety - for a time. Along the way Valentino encounters enemy soldiers, liberation rebels and deadly militias, hyenas and lions, disease and starvation. But there are experiences ahead that will test his spirit in even greater ways than these . . .

Truly epic in scope, and told with expansive humanity, deep compassion and unexpected humour, What is the What is an eye-opening account of life amid the madness of war and an unforgettable tale of tragedy and triumph.

'If there was ever any doubt that Dave Eggers is one of our most important storytellers, What Is the What should put it to rest... [A] strange, beautiful and unforgettable work' San Francisco Chronicle

'A remarkable book: harrowing, witty, wretched, delightful; and always compelling, always surprising' London Review of Books

All of the author's proceeds from this book will go to the Valentino Achak Deng Foundation. Read more at: www.valentinoachakdeng.com.

How We Are Hungry

Dave Eggers

How We Are Hungry is a collection of Dave Eggers's short stories that twist and inspire the imagination

Dave Eggers has championed the cause of the short story so magnificently that through his own McSweeney's magazine and through its many imitators the form is once again in the ascendant. Yet while celebrating the work of others, Eggers has also proved himself time and again one of the modern masters of the form.

This unmissable collection is Egger's first, and showcases his talents in a variety of stories that are short-short, short-long and every length in between; and in stories that are dark, funny, inspiring, daring and endlessly inventive (including the acclaimed 'Up the Mountain Coming Down Slowly'). In short, in stories that will make you appreciate that Dave Eggers and the short story were made for each other - and, in turn, for you.

'Possibly the most admired and emulated American author of his generation' Independent

'Brilliant, confident floods of language' Sunday Herald

'Intensely pleasurable, striking in its beauty...a triumph of both form and content' Guardian

Forty Stories

Dave Eggers (and others)

This collection of pithy, brilliantly acerbic pieces is a companion to Sixty Stories, Barthelme's earlier retrospective volume. Barthelme spotlights the idiosyncratic, haughty, sometimes downright ludicrous behavior of human beings, but it is style rather than content which takes precedence.

You Shall Know Our Velocity

Dave Eggers

You Shall Know Our Velocity is a compelling and thought-provoking novel by award-winning Dave Eggers

Will and Hand are burdened by $38,000 and the memory of their friend Jack. Taking a week out of their lives, they decide to travel around the world to give the money away. They can't really say why they're doing it, just that it needs to be done. Perhaps it's something to do with Jack's death - perhaps they'll find the reason later. But as their plans are frustrated, twisted and altered at every step and the natives prove far from grateful to their benefactors, Will and Hand find that the world is an infinitely bigger, more surreal and exhilarating place than they ever realised. In fact, it's somewhere to get lost in . . .


'Dave Eggers has become J. D. Salinger, Ken Kesey and Jack Kerouac rolled into one' The Times

'Endearing, funny . . . the prose is high on energy and Eggers' talents make it worth the trip'
Guardian

Biography

Dave Eggers is the author of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, You Shall Know Our Velocity, The Unforbidden is Compulsory, How We Are Hungry, Short Short Stories, Teachers Have It Easy, Surviving Justice, What is the What, How the Water Feels to the Fishes, The Wild Things, Zeitoun, A Hologram for the King, The Circle, Your Fathers, Where Are They? And The Prophets, Do They Live Forever? and Heroes of the Frontier. A Hologram for the King and The Circle are both currently in production for major film adaptations.
Dave Eggers is the founder of McSweeney's independent publishing house, the 826 National network, and the nonprofit organisation ScholarMatch. He lives in Northern California with his family.