Books

Orphans and Angels

Linda Finlay

**The second compelling book in the much loved Red Cliffs Ragged School Series**

For orphan Solomon, Red Cliffs offers a place of safety. But he still has something to hide . . .

When young Solomon's father is injured in a tragic accident he finds himself at the Red Cliffs Ragged School on the Torquay coast - a place that takes care of the poorest children from the cities and is watched over by kind-hearted but over-worked Sarah Sullivan.

The school's new travelling mistress, the beautiful, flame-haired Sheena O'Reilly, is going to be a godsend. With Red Cliffs facing closure due to lack of funds it's all hands on deck while Sarah, Sheena and schoolmaster Harry Higgins get the school, and the children, ready for inspection.

Life at Red Cliffs is tough enough, but Sarah didn't expect her once-sweetheart Harry to take such an interest in feisty Sheena. And though Solomon now has a home and people who love him, he is still withdrawn and sullen.

For it's not just the death of his father plaguing his thoughts, Solomon is also hiding a terrible secret in his heart . . .

Praise for Linda Finlay

'Warm and atmospheric, you can practically taste the sea breeze' The Express

'Take time out for a page-turner about family mysteries and betrayal' Take-a-Break

A compelling saga . . . with a surprising and emotional ending which weaves together the storylines in a most satisfying way. Strongly recommended and a great read on a Cornish holiday' cjbrownecrimewriter.com

'A captivating and emotional novel about a strong woman struggling to find her own way in the world when others wish to see her fail' Winstone Books

'I couldn't put it down and found myself finishing it in no time at all. . . The story was full of twists and turns from the onset and throughout . . . I really enjoyed reading this book and I highly recommend that you give it a read' Laurahbookblog

'It was full of drama, friendship, excitement and was truly a magical story. . . I definitely will be reading more in the near future' Laurahbookblog

Monday's Child

Linda Finlay

A little girl is found abandoned on a beach one chilly Monday in October, alone apart from the body of her mother, cold beside her.

Rendered completely silent by her traumatic experience, she is given the name Monday by the woman who discovers her and takes her to the Red Cliffs Ragged School - an old, crumbling building perched above the Torquay bay.

Her saviour, twenty-two-year old Sarah Sullivan, has also had a tough life. But when she was summoned to help out at Red Cliffs - a haven for poverty-stricken children from the cities - by her godfather Samuel she also found her own second chance within its walls. Now she will do anything to help the mischievous, loveable children there. Especially Monday whose continued silence tears at her heart.

But with Samuel's health failing and his grasping nephew Christian eager to inherit, Red Cliffs is under threat. Sarah needs to fight - the children need her, and surprisingly she find she needs them. Will she be able to save the school and protect the little girl she's come to love so much, the one she's named Monday's Child?

Monday's Child is the first in the Red Cliff Ragged School series, soon to be followed by Orphans and Angels.

Praise for Linda Finlay

'Warm and atmospheric, you can practically taste the sea breeze' The Express

'Take time out for a page-turner about family mysteries and betrayal' Take-a-Break

'A compelling saga . . . with a surprising and emotional ending which weaves together the storylines in a most satisfying way. Strongly recommended and a great read on a Cornish holiday' cjbrownecrimewriter.com

'A captivating and emotional novel about a strong woman struggling to find her own way in the world when others wish to see her fail' Winstone Books

The Sea Shell Girl

Linda Finlay

'Warm and atmospheric, you can practically taste the sea breeze' The Express

****

The dramatic new saga from the author of The Royal Lacemaker, The Girl with the Red Ribbon and Family for Christmas
Seventeen-year-old Merryn Dyer has been helping her mother to knit fisherman's jumpers in a small Cornish village since she was a young girl. Growing up without a father, Merryn is used to barely scraping a living and her mother has always instilled pride and honesty in her. But she dreams of one day having more in life.
So when she gets the chance at a job in a nearby city she jumps at the chance, despite her mother's reservations. However, once out of her village she begins to uncover long-buried secrets about her past that threaten to unravel everything that she thought she knew.

'Take time out for a page-turner about family mysteries and betrayal' Take-a-Break

A Family For Christmas

Linda Finlay

The stunning new Christmas saga from Linda Finlay, author of The Royal Lacemaker and The Girl with the Red Ribbon

Eliza is just fourteen years old when she is forced out of her home one freezing winter's night. Lost and alone, she struggles across the snowy moors before collapsing on the doorstep of the reclusive Fay, who slowly nurses her back to health.

Eliza soon falls in love with the wilderness of her surroundings, discovering an unexpected talent for making medicines and perfumes from the abundant local flowers. Yet more than anything she longs for a real home - so when Fay urges her to take an apprenticeship as a perfumer in a distant town, Eliza is devastated. Especially when the position brings misery and puts her life in danger.

But when a handsome young man invites Eliza into his heart, and his home, it looks like there might be a chance for Eliza to finally find a happy ending - and a family for Christmas.

The Girl with the Red Ribbon

Linda Finlay

East Devonshire 1848. Rowan Clode was eight years old when her mother died. Now she treasures the only things she has left of her - an antique mirror and a red ribbon, worn around her wrist.

Rowan, her father and her younger brother remain a close knit family. But when scheming Fanny Foreshaw wins her father's heart she forces Rowan from her home and turns those she loves against her.

By a stroke of luck, Rowan finds a position as a milliner's apprentice and even begins to fall in love but the demons from her past are set to resurface . . .

The Royal Lacemaker

Linda Finlay

A Queen and a peasant - this stunning new saga is the story of a young woman who must find a way to support her family and stay true to herself in the face of adversity.

Just seventeen years old, Lily Rose scratches out a meagre living making lace in Devon, responsible for her siblings following the death of their parents.

But opportunity beckons. Hundreds of miles away, in London, Queen Victoria is preparing for her wedding. She will wear the most exquisite wedding dress in history, bearing the famous Honiton lace. When Lily is selected as one of the few to work on this top-secret commission it is the answer to her prayers.

Lily quickly makes an impression, both as an expert lacemaker and a natural leader of the women working day and night. But there are others who want to see Lily fail, including Squire Clinsden who issues her with a terrible ultimatum - work for him, and be subject to his unwanted advances, or put her loved ones at risk.

Torn between her duty and her dreams of a better life, Lily must battle the odds to ensure her family's survival.

This wonderful debut saga novel is perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn.

As an Image Consultant, Linda has always had an avid interest in people. Helping them to regain their confidence after they've undergone life changing surgery is one of the most satisfying areas of her work. Linda has always loved writing stories and has been published in various magazines and annuals. Moving to the spectacular Devon coast and learning about its local history inspired her to write her first novel, The Royal Lacemaker. She loves beachcombing, finding it the perfect excuse to indulge in a spot of people watching.

Biography

As an image consultant, Linda has always had an avid interest in people. Linda's writing has been published in a number of magazines and annuals. Moving to the spectacular Devon coast and learning about its local history inspired her novels set in the area.