Books

Lying in Wait

Liz Nugent

Sunday Times Top 10 Bestseller!

Featured in the Richard and Judy Spring 2017 Book Club

'Gone Girl fans will love Liz Nugent's Lying in Wait ... it twists, it turns, its characters are utterly despicable and it is a compulsive triumph' Stylist

From the award-winning author of the No 1 bestseller, Unravelling Oliver ...

'My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.'

Lydia Fitzsimons lives in the perfect house with her adoring husband and beloved son. There is just one thing Lydia yearns for to make her perfect life complete, though the last thing she expects is that pursuing it will lead to murder. However, needs must - because nothing can stop this mother from getting what she wants ...

'A stunningly talented writer' Sophie Hannah

'The intricate plotting and jolting suspense hold you in a vice till the last page' Sunday Times

'Clear your diary if you pick up this seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre' Sunday Mirror

'Brilliant plotting ratchets up the tension in this chilling tale of obsessive love, madness and motherhood' Woman & Home

'The wit is sharp and the plot full of punishing twists' The Times Crime Club

'An unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page' Irish Times

'An excellent example of "Domestic Noir" ... excitement and curiosity mount until you realise you can't put the book down. Highly recommended.' Literary Review

'A tense, taut, almost gothic thriller where the tension tightens to near unbearable proportions ... impossible to stop reading. A brilliantly written, stand-out novel.' Marian Keyes

'Taut, crisp, clear, a storm-warning of a book. It has the eeriness of The Turn of the Screw; but as these screws turn, a mighty tension takes hold. Masterly' Sebastian Barry

'Deliciously twisted, shot through with dark and acid humour and the denouement is truly chilling.' Sarah Hilary

'Liz Nugent's characters are as unforgettably monstrous as they are believable. A superbly crafted novel and an absorbing portrait of the purest kind of evil.' Jane Casey

'I thought it impossible to match the brilliant Unravelling Oliver, but this Liz has done. Not only is her style beautiful, but she keeps the reader on the edge of their seat from page one until the completely unexpected ending. I read Lying in Wait in one sitting. I just couldn't bear the suspense. I absolutely loved it.' Amanda Redman

'She writes compellingly, creates posh sociopaths like no-one else and doesn't flinch when the end demands what it demands. Lying In Wait is a story you genuinely should not miss' Rick O'Shea, RTÉ

Unravelling Oliver

Liz Nugent

WINNER - IBA Crime Fiction Book of the Year

'Truly excellent, beautifully written ... strongly recommended' Sophie Hannah

'Compelling, clever and dark, unlike any other psychological thriller you will have read before ... you'll gobble it up in one go.' Heat Magazine

'Incredibly brilliant' Marian Keyes

'Gone Girl meets The Spinning Heart ... a great cracking read ... I couldn't put it down' Ryan Tubridy, RTÉ

'The compulsion to continue reading never wanes and most impressively the ending doesn't buckle under the weight of expectation ... a persistently satisfying read' Sunday Times

'A page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense' Sunday Independent

'An ambitiously structured and compelling "whydunnit"' Daily Mail

'Formidable' Irish Times

'Reminiscent of The Book of Evidence' RTE Guide

'We read this in one sitting ... satisfyingly unnerving.' Woman's Way

'All I know is I stayed awake until 3am to finish it, which I haven't done with a new novel for longer than I can remember.' Irish Independent

'The best opening line you'll read all year ... and you'll keep reading' Sinead Crowley, RTE Arts Correspondent

'Her writing is stylish, the characters are vivid and the line of the story is all too real and plausible. Can't recommend it highly enough.' Rick O'Shea, 2FM

'A superb and compelling terrifying book' Sinead Desmond, TV3

'Just read a book in one sitting. Last time I managed that was about twenty years ago. The book was Liz Nugent's Unravelling Oliver' Declan Burke, CrimeAlwaysPays.ie

'A kind of Irish Mr Ripley ... Gripping, thought-provoking' Darragh McManus, arts journalist

'I read this book over a 24 hour period. I seriously could not put it down.' Writing.ie

'Magnificent ... compulsively readable ... stunning, shock and superb' Frank McGuinness

'I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.'

Liz Nugent's gripping novel of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith.

Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children's books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and beats her into a coma.

In the aftermath, as everyone tries to make sense of his astonishing act of savagery, Oliver tells his story. So do those whose paths he has crossed over five decades. What unfolds is a story of shame, envy, breath-taking deception and masterful manipulation.

Only Oliver knows the lengths to which he has had to go to get the life to which he felt entitled. But even he is in for a shock when the past catches up with him.

Liz Nugent has worked in Irish film, theatre and television for most of her adult life. She is an award-winning writer of radio and television drama and has written short stories for children and adults. Unravelling Oliver is her first novel.

Biography

Before becoming a full-time writer, Liz Nugent worked in Irish film, theatre and television. In 2014 her first novel, Unravelling Oliver, was a Number One bestseller and won the Crime Fiction Prize in the 2014 Irish Book Awards. Her second novel, Lying in Wait, went straight to Number One in the Irish bestseller charts, remained there for nearly two months and won her a second IBA. She lives in Dublin with her husband.