Books

The Waterway Girls

Milly Adams

THE FIRST NOVEL IN MILLY ADAMS' BRAND NEW SAGA SERIES. Perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Nancy Revell.

War lands them in the same boat. Can they pull together?

October 1943, West London
Nineteen-year-old Polly Holmes is leaving poor bombed London behind to join the war effort on Britain’s canals.

Stepping aboard the Marigold amid pouring rain, there’s lots for Polly to get to grips with. Not least her fellow crew: strong and impetuous Verity, whose bark is worse than her bite, and seasoned skipper Bet.

With her sweetheart away fighting in the RAF and her beloved brother killed in action, there’s plenty of heartache to be healed on the waterway. And as Polly rolls up her sleeves and gets stuck into life on board the narrowboat – making the gruelling journey London up to Birmingham – she will soon discover that a world of new beginnings awaits amid the anguish of the war.

Praise for Milly Adams:

'Well researched, with an engaging heroine and a delightful ending.'
Anna Jacobs

'Milly Adams' readers will find the story and its rich cast of characters very appealing.'
Lizzie Lane

At Long Last Love

Milly Adams

THE THIRD BEAUTIFUL AND HEARTWARMING NOVEL FROM MILLY ADAMS.

'Well researched, with an engaging heroine and a delightful ending.'
Anna Jacobs
********
‘Would anyone ever think of her with real love?’

It’s July 1942, and twenty-three year old nightclub singer Kate Watson has made a home for herself in bombed-blitzed London. A motley crew of friends has replaced the family she’s not spoken to in years. That is until the evening Kate’s sister Sarah walks back into her life.

Sarah has a favour to ask: she needs Kate to return home to Dorset for one month to look after her daughter, Lizzie. Reluctantly Kate agrees, even though it means facing the troubled past she hoped she’d escaped.

Kate is confronted once again by the prejudice and scrutiny of the townsfolk, including the new village vicar. As the war continues, Kate must fight her own battles and find not only the courage to forge a future but perhaps, at long last, love.

'Milly Adams' readers will find the story and its rich cast of characters very appealing.'
Lizzie Lane

Sisters at War

Milly Adams

THE SECOND HEART-WRENCHING NOVEL FROM MILLY ADAMS. Perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Katie Flynn.

'Well researched, with an engaging heroine and a delightful ending.'
Anna Jacobs on At Long Last Love
********

Bryony and Hannah are sisters, but they couldn't be more different, and war has brought even more of a rift between them. Bryony is happiest where her family and loved ones are - at Combe Lodge, the family home - and these uncertain times have brought them all closer together. But Hannah is young and headstrong. No one will stop her from doing what she wants - and this time she's decided to flee to Jersey.

Even though Hannah has left, at Combe Lodge, everyone else is pitching in with the war effort. The family home fills with evacuees and Bryony is doing her bit, flying planes at the nearby Combe Lodge Airlines.

But despite all that is going on with war, Bryony knows that above everything she needs to reach out to Hannah. Only she will be able to keep her flighty younger sister's feet on the ground. But is Bryony too late to help her? Will Hannah ever come home?

'Milly Adams' readers will find the story and its rich cast of characters very appealing.'
Lizzie Lane on At Long Last Love

Above Us The Sky

Milly Adams

THE FIRST SECOND WORLD WAR NOVEL FROM MILLY ADAMS.
Evacuees, the WI, and keeping calm and carrying on. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Ellie Dean.

'Well researched, with an engaging heroine and a delightful ending.'
Anna Jacobs on At Long Last Love
********
As the threat of bombing raids intensifies, newly-qualified teacher, Phyllis Saunders, is evacuated with her school to Dorset.

Here she encounters prejudice and suspicion. But she is determined to make the best of life, for herself and the children in her care. All the while her fiancé and submariner, Sammy, is facing danger out at sea.

Then the Blitz hits London and Phyllis, trying to persuade her mother to return to Dorset with her, gets caught up in it herself. Shaken but alive, she returns to the relative peace of the countryside. But soon she is nursing a secret she can tell no one.

Until the news that Sammy's submarine has been sunk reaches her, and she is forced to make a decision she hopes she will never regret…

'Milly Adams' readers will find the story and its rich cast of characters very appealing.'
Lizzie Lane on At Long Last Love

Biography

Milly Adams lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband, dog and cat. Her children live nearby. Her grandchildren are fun, and lead her astray. She insists that it is that way round.
Milly Adams is also the author of Above Us The Sky and Sisters At War.