Books

Dangerous Crossing

Rachel Rhys

A stunning atmospheric novel in the tradition of Patricia Highsmith and Agatha Christie.

'Glamorous, gripping, seductive... ripe with dangers of all kinds' Sunday Express 5 *****
'Thrilling, captivating. Simply stunning' Daily Express 5 *****
Candis magazine BOOK OF THE MONTH
Red Magazine PICK OF THE MONTH: 'Think Patricia Highsmith on the seas'
Prime Magazine pick of SIX INTRIGUING READS
'Bag a copy of this Daphne du Maurier-style debut!' Press Association
'Well plotted, absorbing read with a whiff of Agatha Christie' Woman and Home
LOVE READING Book of the Month

**********************

Sparkling cocktails, poisonous secrets ...

1939, Europe on the brink of war. Lily Shepherd leaves England on an ocean liner for Australia, escaping her life of drudgery for new horizons. She is instantly seduced by the world onboard: cocktails, black-tie balls and beautiful sunsets. Suddenly, Lily finds herself mingling with people who would otherwise never give her the time of day.

But soon she realizes her glamorous new friends are not what they seem. The rich and hedonistic Max and Eliza Campbell, mysterious and flirtatious Edward, and fascist George are all running away from tragedy and scandal even greater than her own.

By the time the ship docks, two passengers are dead, war has been declared, and life will never be the same again.

********************************

Here's what authors and readers are saying about DANGEROUS CROSSING:


'Thrilling, seductive, utterly absorbing.' PAULA HAWKINS, author of The Girl on The Train
'A gorgeously atmospheric read, prepare to be transported . . .' RUTH WARE, author of The Woman in Cabin 10
‘A sumptuous and thrilling read which reminded me of Daphne du Maurier. It captivates you in its spell right until the end. I loved it.' KATE HAMER, author of The Girl in the Red Coat
'An exquisite story of love, murder, adventure and dark secrets, Rachel Rhys brings this dangerous crossing brilliantly and beautifully alive' LISA JEWELL, Author of The Girls
'Completely compelling and atmospheric. I absolutely loved it' JANE FALLON, Author of MY SWEET REVENGE
'Quite extraordinary . . . Beautiful, captivating and I desperately did not want the journey to end.' EMMA KAVANAGH, Author of The Missing Hours
'A proper old-fashioned tale of thwarted romance, impossible glamour, murder and mayhem on the high seas . . . The pages turn themselves.' LIZ NUGENT, author of Lying in Wait
'An utter treat . . . a glorious mix of proper old-school glamour and a labyrinthine plot full of class war, politics and sexual tension . . . A masterful storyteller.' VERONICA HENRY, author of How to Find Love in a Bookshop
'What a world of glamour, uncertainty and intrigue! . . . It is a gem of a book' COLETTE MCBETH, author of The Life I Left Behind
'Rachel Rhys has created a sumptuous world, rich in character and description. Possessing a rare talent for observation and detail, she has perfectly drawn this pre-war passage to Australia. For a few days it was as if I was a passenger on that ship myself. I loved it' AMANDA JENNINGS, Author of In Her Wake
'A book to lose yourself in' LIZ FENWICK, author of Under a Cornish Sky

Biography

RACHEL RHYS is the pen-name of a much-loved psychological suspense author. Dangerous Crossing is her debut under this name and is inspired by a real life account of a 1930s ocean voyage. A Dangerous Crossing is due to be published around the world. Rachel Rhys lives in North London with her family.