Reviews

  • "Rumour, court machinations and a rattling good plot"

    Fanny Blake, Woman & Home
  • "'Unashamedly fun and will appeal to fans of Kate Mosse and Dan Brown... full of twisting passageways, wall tapestries complete with spy holes, and all manner of skulduggery... The plot crackles along, piling up the murders and conspiracies among the culinary metaphors. A very promising new author'"

    New Books Magazine
  • "It is a clutching story, with love interests and court shenanigans, odd fellows and weird sisters, lurking in wait for their stage entrance, scenes of comic hilarity around the dinner table, and a high spirited tribute to the fruits of knowledge...In her own neat piece of alchemy, Newmark takes the heft of a potato and turns it into an ode for paying attention"

    Kirkus Reviews, US