Reviews

  • [A] raw, funny and untidily generous novel... Ottila belongs to the great sisterhood of the Female Fuck-Up. Not the eroticised trainwrecks male writers love to invent, but the real-deal ones like Phoebe Waller-Bridge’s Fleabag... As much as you’re rooting for Ottila to get her man, that’s not the point; the point is whether she can gain the moral wisdom to live a better kind of life. She’s an Emma steeped in ethanol.

    Sarah Ditum, Guardian
  • This lovely, quirky novel will appeal to fans of Miranda July and Sheila Heti.

    Sarra Manning, Red
  • I loved the novel’s strong sense of place and the picture it paints of a sparky, inner-city singleton trying to stay on the straight and narrow. Funny, bleak and heart-warming, sometimes all at the same time.

    Wendy Holden, Daily Mail
  • Balances irony and earnestness perfectly, offering both a heartbreakingly sincere quest for happiness and an acerbic intolerance of hollow quick-fixes... Anneliese Mackintosh’s latest work is positively radiant.

    The Skinny
  • Impressive and challenging… This debut novel is every bit as assured, honest and innovative as its predecessor… So Happy It Hurts is something of a high-wire act, laugh-out-loud funny at times but also so emotionally honest that it sometimes feels like a punch to the gutsAs sharp a novel about 21st-century living as you’ll find anywhere.

    Big Issue

Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising