Reviews

  • "Gripping, bold and completely original"

    Katherine Rundell
  • "A big, mysterious book full of dangerous characters and half glimpsed truths. An absorbing and unusual read. I loved it"

    Melvin Burgess
  • "A bold, original and engrossing collision between the Norse gods and our high-pressured school system. I love books about gods in modern times and this one had me gripped. An auspicious debut."

    Francesca Simon
  • "Stunning... a searing satire on the pressures that privileged children are put under by pushy parents."

    Amanda Craig, New Statesman
  • "Grand and gripping"

    Literary Review
  • "An intelligent and insightful read, this YA novel manages to merge Norse myth, competitive parenting, bullying, class issues and exam pressures into a taut and chilling thriller. Perfect for fans of Sarah Govett and Neil Gaiman."

    Anna McKerrow, BookTrust
  • "A dark, gripping and unusual debut"

    Fiona Noble, The Bookseller
  • "Persistently unsettling and unusual"

    David Owen, author of Panther
  • "A striking and sophisticated book about myth, privilege, pushy parents and heavy metal music. Truly marvellous."

    Inis, Children's Books Ireland
  • "Super intriguing and instantly involving... It feels utterly frank in its tone"

    Katie Clapham, bookseller at Storytellers Inc.

More from this Author