Reviews

  • Aira is one of the most provocative and idiosyncratic novelists working in Spanish today and should not be missed

    The New York Times
  • Aira has written over seventy books. They are mostly novels, mostly slim, and mostly astoundingly good. He reminds me of Philip K. Dick, of Honore de Balzac, of Machado de Assis, and of Soren Kierkegaard... all of which is simply to say that he is without compare

    The New Yorker
  • Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W. G. Sebald

    Los Angeles Times
  • He is an improviser, his work a performance on the page. But experimental, improvisational, performative and dream-like as Aira's many marvellous books are, they also reveal him to be no less of a traditionalist, responding to the most ancient custom of storytelling as a way of passing the hours of the night

    Judges’ citation, The Man Booker International Prize 2015
  • Aira's stories seem like shards from an ever expanding interconnecting universe. He populates the racing void with multitudinous visions, like Indian paintings of gods vomiting gods. He executes digression with muscular lucidity

    The New York Times
  • César Aira's body of work is a perfect machine for invention-he writes without necessity or any apparent forebears, always as if for the first time

    BOMB Magazine
  • Aira's works are like slim cabinets of wonder, full of unlikely juxtapositions. His unpredictability is masterful

    Harper's
  • Aira's novels display a consistent engagement with the importance of storytelling and the act of writing. The engrossing power of his work comes from how he carries out these feats: with the inexhaustible energy and pleasure of a child chasing after imaginary enemies in the park

    Los Angeles Review of Books
  • To love the novels of Cesar Aira you must have a taste for the absurd, a tolerance for the obscurely philosophical and a willingness to laugh out loud against your better judgment

    NPR Books
  • Aira's charm is subtle, unobtrusive, it doesn't try to seduce with cheap likeability. He takes a leisurely stroll through his scenes. It's as if Machado de Assis got redrafted by Bolaño and edited by Anatole France

    Bookslut