The Stranger

A gripping story of secrets and lies for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society and Dear Mrs Bird

Kate Riordan

One of Red Magazine's top ten books . . .

'Wonderfully atmospheric and utterly engrossing. I hardly moved until I had read to the very last word' AJ Pearce, author of Dear Mrs Bird

'A beautiful and intriguing page-turner. Cornwall springs to life in vivid colour' Dinah Jefferies

----------

Cornwall, 1940.

In the hushed hours of deepest night a young woman is found washed up on the rocks.

Was it a tragic accident? Or should the residents of Penhallow have been more careful about whom they invited in?

In the midst of war three women arrive seeking safety at Penhallow Hall.

Each is looking to escape her past.

But one of them is not there by choice.

As the threat of invasion mounts and the nightly blackouts feel longer and longer, tensions between the close-knit residents rise until dark secrets start to surface.

And no one can predict what their neighbour is capable of . . .

In a house full of strangers, who do you trust?

----------

'A beautiful and intriguing page-turner, where the secrets of the past cast long shadows. Cornwall springs to life in vivid colour' Dinah Jefferies

  • Penguin
  • Published 22nd March 2018
  • 320 Pages
  • £12.99