Reviews

  • Gripping alternative history . . . Ingeniously plotted, with storytelling that's full of heart

    Daily Telegraph
  • This richly imagined thriller is set in an alternate past . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world

    Sunday Mirror
  • A taut, psychological thriller with a plausible twist, Rubin's debut novel does not disappoint . . . an extraordinary but believable tale of corruption, power play and black-market racketeering . . . Well researched and imaginative, Rubin's alternative history novel creates an eerie landscape full of menace . . . Writing with panache and creative flair, Rubin breathes credibility into a disturbing 'what if' scenario. Chilling and intriguing in equal measures

    The Lady
  • An interesting take on the 'What if we'd lost World War II?' debate. A gripping and well-imagined yarn

    Sun
  • Rubin paints a shocking picture of what might have happened had we lost the Second World War and been invaded first by the Nazis and then the Soviet army. It's an edgy ride, a reminder that we should not take our freedom for granted

    Peterborough Evening Telegraph
  • Far more than an intellectual exercise - it is a gripping story, with heart

    Daily Telegraph, Best Thrillers of the Year
  • A tight and compelling thriller

    SFX
  • Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland

    David Young, CWA Dagger-winning author of Stasi Child
  • A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss

    William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier
  • In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill

    Jake Kerridge