The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency: BBC Radio Casebook Vol.4

The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency: BBC Radio Casebook Vol.4

Eight BBC Radio 4 full-cast dramatisations
Audio Download


A fourth collection of BBC Radio 4 dramatisations, adapted by Alexander McCall Smith from his own bestselling books

‘Must-listen...beautifully cast, precisely timed, simply wonderful' Daily Telegraph

‘…will charm listeners whether they already know and love these stories or are hearing them for the first time’ AudioFile Magazine

'...excursions into the world of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency through these BBC dramatizations have been a pleasure...' AudioFile Magazine

Precious Ramotswe, Botswana’s premier – and only – lady detective, is back with another batch of unusual cases.
In these eight episodes, she receives a visit from a very important person; helps out Mma Potokwani, who has had bad news at the Orphan Farm; looks into who is orchestrating a campaign against Mma Soleti and welcomes a new arrival – while righting an old wrong.

Plus, Mr JLB Matekoni’s apprentice gets into trouble; Mma Makutsi is hiding a secret, and Mma Ramotswe tries to come to terms with one of the trickiest situations she has ever faced: taking a holiday.

The stories included are: A Man From a Far Place, The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection, The Modern Husband Course, The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon, The Handsome Man’s Deluxe Café, The Dish of Yesterday, This Is Not a Rubbish Boy and The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine.

Brought to life with evocative music and a full cast, these engaging adaptations star Claire Benedict as Mma Ramotswe, with Nadine Marshall as Mma Makutsi and Joseph Marcell as Mr JLB Matekoni.


  • Must-listen...beautifully cast, precisely timed, simply wonderful.
    Daily Telegraph

About the author

Alexander McCall-Smith

Alexander McCall Smith is one of the world's most prolific and most popular authors. His career has been a varied one: for many years he was a professor of Medical Law and worked in universities in the United Kingdom and abroad. Then, after the publication of his highly successful No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series, which has sold over twenty million copies, he devoted his time to the writing of fiction and has seen his various series of books translated into over forty-six languages and become bestsellers through the world. These include the Scotland Street novels, first published as a serial novel in The Scotsman, the Isabel Dalhousie novels, the Von Igelfeld series, and the Corduroy Mansions series, novels which started life as a delightful (but challenging to write) cross-media serial, written on the website of the Telegraph Media Group. This series won two major cross-media awards - Association of Online Publishers Digital Publishing Award 2009 for a Cross Media Project and the New Media Age award. In addition to these series, Alexander writes stand-alone books, including The Forever Girl; Fatty O'Leary's Dinner Party and Emma - a reworking of the classic Jane Austen novel. He is also the author of a book on Edinburgh, A Work of Beauty: Alexander McCall Smith's Edinburgh, as well as several collections of short stories, academic works, and over thirty books for children. He has received numerous awards for his writing, including the British Book Awards Author of the Year Award in 2004 and a CBE for service to literature in 2007. He holds honorary doctorates from nine universities in Europe and North America. In March of 2011 he received an award from the President of Botswana for his services through literature to that country. Alexander McCall Smith lives in Edinburgh. He is married to a doctor and has two daughters.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more