Never Saw Me Coming

Never Saw Me Coming

Grade A student. Grade A psychopath.

Summary


A New York Times Best Thriller of the Year Pick


Meet Chloe. First-year student, ordinary, legging-wearing, girl next door...and psychopath.

Chloe is part of a secret clinical study of young psychopaths run by the university's Psychology Department. Most psychopaths aren't criminals, but when a string of murders on campus causes upheaval, Chloe's private vendetta is sidelined. Partnered with fellow study participants she can't trust - and distracted by typical university life - Chloe has to walk the line between hunter and prey.

Perfect for fans of My Sister the Serial Killer, Killing Eve and The Secret History, Never Saw Me coming is a sharp, electrifying and hugely entertaining thriller with an antiheroine who will work her manipulative magic on you.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE EDGAR BEST FIRST NOVEL AWARD

'Deliciously wicked and utterly addictive' Alice Hunter, author of The Serial Killer's Wife

'Fresh, fast-paced and fiendishly clever!' Lisa Gardner, bestselling author of Alone


'I fell in love with self-confessed psychopath Chloe on page one' Erin Kelly, author of He Said/She Said


Readers love NEVER SAW ME COMING:

'A fantastic read that absolutely kept me guessing. I loved everything about it; the college campus setting, the wickedly dark sense of humour involved, the unique and twisty murder mystery. How is it possible that I fell in love with a group of self-confessed psychopaths?' *****

'I was hooked... There's plenty of dark humor and i laughed a lot but there's also suspense, a lot of twists' *****

'A darkly comic, complicated tale that takes unreliable narration and shakes it with a huge dollop of distrust. With its twisty, meandering path, and a satisfying ending.' *****

'A profoundly disturbing and well written book with an ending I didn't see coming.' *****

'This book was perfectly pitched and pure fun. Highly recommended.' ******

Reviews

  • I devoured this riveting book through a day of travel - in a taxi, on the plane, in the next taxi - and into the night. My desire to rush to the end clashed with my desire to savor every word. Who would be the last psychopath standing?
    New York Times

About the author

Vera Kurian

Vera Kurian is a Washington D.C.-based writer with a doctorate in social psychology who has studied fiction at Breadloaf, Sewanee and VONA and has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize.


@vera_kurian
www.verakurian.com
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more