William Heinemann logo

William Heinemann is one of the oldest literary imprints still publishing today. Founded in 1890, the imprint boasts both a rich literary heritage and a forward-thinking, cutting-edge list of contemporary fiction and non-fiction. 

Historically we have published Harper Lee, Henry James, Joseph Conrad, Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, Anthony Burgess, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Angela Carter, Graham Greene, John Steinbeck and Vladimir Nabokov to name just a few. Today William Heinemann publishes acclaimed and award-winning fiction from authors such as Nicola Barker, James Ellroy, Nick Harkaway, John Niven, Sara Baume, Jenni Fagan, Lauren Groff, Richard Powers, Sarah Taylor, Tom Hanks, Eley Williams, Donna Leon, and Michel Houellebecq. Our non-fiction is an eclectic mix that includes current affairs, reportage, popular culture, memoir, popular science and narrative non-fiction from authors including Casey Cep, Laurence Scott, Charles Duhigg, Caroline Elton, Wretch 32, Dexter Dias, Jennifer Eberhardt and Thomas Harding.