Bestsellers in 2017

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Getaway (book 12)

Jeff Kinney

The new hilarious story from Jeff Kinney is the best yet in the brilliant, bestselling Diary of a Wimpy Kid series!

Greg Heffley and his family are getting out of town.

With the cold weather setting in and the stress of the Christmas holiday approaching, the Heffleys decide to escape to a tropical island resort for some much-needed rest and relaxation. A few days in paradise should do wonders for Greg and his frazzled family.

But the Heffleys soon discover that paradise isn't everything it's cracked up to be. Sun-poisoning, stomach troubles and venomous creatures all threaten to ruin the family's vacation.

Can their trip be saved, or will this island getaway end in disaster?

Whether a loyal fan already or new to the Wimpy Kid books, THE GETAWAY is the perfect book for young readers this Christmas. With engaging writing, hilarious illustrations on every page and an action-packed holiday-based plot, THE GETAWAY is a winner.

Praise for Jeff Kinney:

'The world has gone crazy for Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid' - Sun

'Kinney is right up there with J K Rowling as one of the bestselling children's authors on the planet' - Independent

'The most hotly anticipated children's book of the year is here - Diary of a Wimpy Kid' - Big Issue

'Hilarious' - Telegraph

The Creakers

Tom Fletcher (and others)

The darkly magical new story about the monsters under the bed, from bestselling author of The Christmasaurus, Tom Fletcher.

What silently waits in the shadows at night? What's under your bed, keeping just out of sight?

Do you ever hear strange, creaking noises at night? Ever wonder what makes those noises?
Lucy Dungston always did.
Until, one morning, Lucy discovers that all the grown-ups have disappeared - as if into thin air. Chaos descends as the children in Lucy's town run riot. It's mayhem. It's madness. To most kids, it's amazing!
But Lucy wants to find out the truth. Lucy lost her dad not long ago, and she's determined not to lose her mum too. She's going to get her back - and nothing is going to stop her . . .
. . . except maybe the Creakers.

The Christmasaurus

Tom Fletcher (and others)

The Christmasaurus is a story about a boy named William Trundle, and a dinosaur, the Christmasaurus. It's about how they meet one Christmas Eve and have a magical adventure. It's about friendship and families, sleigh bells and Santa, singing elves and flying reindeer, music and magic. It's about discovering your heart's true desire, and learning that the impossible might just be possible . . .

Ali-A Adventures

Ali-A (and others)

It's launch time for the hotly anticipated video game Alien Liberator 2, and who better to invite along than top gamer Ali-A? Ali is promised the biggest game launch ever - but what he doesn't count on is just how real the action is about to get!

When a merciless band of aliens turns up to spoil the party, it's up to Ali to transform from gaming icon to real-life hero. Can he defeat the end-of-game boss and save the day? With a little help from his fans and a very special dog named Eevee, he's going to give it his best shot!

New and forthcoming

Peppa Pig: Peppa's Castle Adventure

Peppa Pig

Peppa Pig and her family are having a day out at the castle. There's so much to explore! With knights, exploding cannons, a mediaeval banquet and a real (robot!) dragon, it's fun for everyone. Peppa and George love being the king and queen of the castle!

Ripley's Fun Facts and Silly Stories 6

Robert Ripley

The latest entry in the bestselling Fun Facts & Silly Stories series, Volume 6 is bursting with brand new crazy facts, goofy tales, and unbelievable photos just right for the young Ripley’s reader. Filled with colourful type and incredible photos, the Fun Facts & Silly Stories series brings laughter and learning together for kids!

Rabbit and Hedgehog Treasury

Paul Stewart (and others)

This uplifting collection from Chris Riddell and Paul Stewart's wonderful world of Rabbit and Hedgehog includes all four stories:
Rabbit’s Wish
A Little Bit of Winter
What Do You Remember?
The Birthday Presents
From birthdays to remembering games, from hibernation to wishes come true, Rabbit and Hedgehog's wonderful adventures have been brought together for the very first time in this exquisitely bound treasury. Filled with true friendship and adventure, these are tales to be enjoyed again or for the very first time.

'Hedgehog and Rabbit are a winning pair.' Daily Telegraph

Noodle Head

Giles Andreae (and others)


Two cheeky little friends argue over a sweetie - and things get a little out of hand in a flurry of silly name-calling that will have children in hysterics. Will Flippy and Floppy stop being mean to each other and learn to share?

A read-aloud treat to return to again and again while absorbing the gentle message about how far a little kindness can go.

The Dragonsitter's Surprise

Josh Lacey (and others)

Eddie was given a dragon's egg by his uncle for his last birthday, and one day he notices a crack in the egg. Soon the egg breaks open and out comes a very unusual creature. Just as Eddie and Emily are trying to cope with this new arrival, their mum announces that she has a surprise of her own...
In their ninth adventure Eddie and Emily get the biggest surprise of their lives!

Twelve Nights

Andrew Zurcher

Kay and her little sister, Eloise, never imagined that their standard icy Christmas Eve in Cambridge would be the start of a twelve-night odyssey . . .

Kay's father is working late - as usual. Fed up, her mother bundles her daughters into the car and drives to her husband's Cambridge college to collect him herself. But when they arrive, the staff claim that nobody by his name has ever worked there . . .

Kay is puzzled by her mother's reaction - silent tears, not anger and confusion. And what is even more puzzling is the card on her pillow when they return home:

Will O. de Wisp, Gent. F.H.S.P. and Phillip R. T. Gibbet, Gent. F.H.S.P. K.Bith. REMOVALS.

That night, Kay is woken by voices at her window: the voices of Will and Phillip, the Removers. But they are not human. And Kay shouldn't be able to see them. Except she can . . .

Ladybird Favourite Fairy Tales

Ladybird (and others)

Penguin presents the audio download edition of Ladybird Favourite Fairy Tales read by Gemma Whelan and Nigel Pilkington.

Listen to eight traditional, captivating fairy tales in this gorgeous audio treasury from Ladybird. Each classic tale has been retold for young readers and is perfect for your little one, whether you're curled up at home or on the move.

Stories include: Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, Little Red Riding Hood, Hansel and Gretel, The Magic Porridge Pot, Little Red Hen and The Ugly Duckling.

COPA90: Our World Cup

Copa90 (and others)

In the summer of 2018, the entire planet will be glued to its screens as Russia hosts the greatest show on Earth: the FIFA World Cup.

As the home of global football fan culture, COPA90 will be there every step of the way to bring the true story of Russia 2018 to its huge social media following.

Football fans of all ages can be one step ahead of the game with this comprehensive guide to the planet's biggest tournament. This isn't just a book about the big teams and the star names - it's the real football fan's World Cup book. Penned by COPA90's own in-house team of football fanatics, it has something for everyone including:

* The full run-down on all 32 competing nations, with a focus on each side's biggest legend and most promising young star.
* A guide to the host nation's stadiums and cities, with info gathered from COPA90's own travels to Russia.
* The most memorable moments in World Cup history.
* The best and worst teams, players, kits and goal celebrations.
* Find out which of your favourite stars make the grade in COPA90's Ultimate World Cup XI.
* Much, much more!

Sleep Tight Very Hungry Caterpillar

Eric Carle (and others)

The Very Hungry Caterpillar has sold over 44 million copies worldwide, in over 60 languages. In this brand new lift-the-flap story, it's evening and everyone is going to sleep - children can lift-the-flap on each page to discover which animal is settling down for the night. Who's that hiding on the very last page? Could it be everyone's favourite caterpillar...? A fun, interactive way to learn about different animals and where they settle down to sleep. The perfect bedtime read.

Fragments of the Lost

Megan Miranda

A suspenseful psychological mystery about one girl's search to uncover the truth behind her ex-boyfriend's death. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars and 13 Reasons Why.

Jessa Whitworth knew she didn't belong in her ex-boyfriend Caleb's room. But she couldn't deny that she was everywhere - in his photos, his neatly folded T-shirts, even the dragonfly necklace in his jeans pocket . . . the one she gave him for safe keeping on that day.

His mother asked her to pack up his things - even though she blames Jessa for his accident. How could she say no? And maybe, just maybe, it will help her work through the guilt she feels about their final moments together.

But as Jessa begins to box up the pieces of Caleb's life, they trigger memories that make Jessa realize their past relationship may not be exactly as she remembered. And she starts to question whether she really knew Caleb at all.

Each fragment of his life reveals a new clue that propels Jessa to search for the truth about Caleb's accident. What really happened on the night he died?

Toys and games

shop now