New and forthcoming

Reborn

Sarah Lotz

What if death isn't the end but a gateway to a whole new and exciting journey, a journey into a world filled with monsters and magic?

The story begins with an old woman dying in a hospital bed. Bonnie Black has been widowed for fourteen years and she's terrified of dying, believing there's nothing on the other side. But when she passes, Bonnie wakes up in the place we all go when we die and she's twenty-five years old.

Not heaven or hell; somewhere else.

Somewhere you have to fight to survive. Somewhere the people from the past are waiting for you - the good and the bad. And so Bonnie sets out on a quest to find her late husband, unaware that the bad guys are also making plans . . .

You don't go to Heaven when you die. You come here.

Praise for Sarah Lotz:

'Really wonderful . . . hard to put down and vastly entertaining' Stephen King

'A ferociously imaginative story-teller' Lauren Beukes

'Dark, subtle and completely unputdownable' Sarah Pinborough

Peter Pan

J. M. Barrie

'All children, except one, grow up.'

It was Friday night. Mr and Mrs Darling were dining out. Nana had been tied up in the backyard. The poor dog was barking, for she could smell danger. And she was right - this was the night that Peter Pan would take the Darling children on the most breath-taking adventure of their lives, to a place called Neverland, a strange country where the lost boys live and never grow up, a land with mermaids, fairies and pirates - and of course the terrible, evil, Captain Hook. Peter Pan is undoubtedly one of the most famous and best-loved stories for children, an unforgettable, magical fantasy which has been enjoyed by generations.

The Penguin English Library - collectable general readers' editions of the best fiction in English, from the eighteenth century to the end of the Second World War.

The Gloaming

Kirsty Logan

The best lives leave a mark.

Mara’s island is one of stories and magic, but every story ends in the same way. She will finish her days on the cliff, turned to stone and gazing out at the horizon like all the islanders before her.

Mara’s parents – a boxer and a ballerina – chose this enchanted place as a refuge from the turbulence of their previous lives; they wanted to bring up their children somewhere special and safe. But the island and the sea don’t care what people want, and when they claim a price from her family, Mara’s world unravels.

It takes the arrival of Pearl, mysterious and irresistible, to light a spark in Mara again, and allow her to consider a different story for herself.

The Gloaming is a gorgeous tale of love and grief, and the gap between fairy tales and real life.

The Way of Sorrows

Jon Steele

Former escort Katherine Taylor has survived a sweeping attack on her home, but awakens with no recollection of the events and no memory of her son Max, the child of the prophecy, who is nowhere to be found.

Meanwhile, Detective Jay Harper is once again at Lausanne Cathedral, where he is following a new directive from his immortal, heavenly central command: find both Katherine Taylor and Max before the goons eliminate all trace of goodness from the world at midnight.

Combining elements of science, religion and fantasy, The Way of Sorrows is the electrifying conclusion of Steele's unforgettable, action-packed Angelus trilogy.

The Distance of the Moon

Italo Calvino

'Time is a catastrophe, perpetual and irreversible.'

Science and fiction interweave delightfully in these playful Cosmicomic short stories.

Penguin Modern: fifty new books celebrating the pioneering spirit of the iconic Penguin Modern Classics series, with each one offering a concentrated hit of its contemporary, international flavour. Here are authors ranging from Kathy Acker to James Baldwin, Truman Capote to Stanislaw Lem and George Orwell to Shirley Jackson; essays radical and inspiring; poems moving and disturbing; stories surreal and fabulous; taking us from the deep South to modern Japan, New York's underground scene to the farthest reaches of outer space.

The Garden of Forking Paths

Jorge Luis Borges

'Summer was drawing to a close, and I realized that the book was monstrous.'

Fantastical tales of mazes, puzzles, lost labyrinths and bookish mysteries, from the unique imagination of a literary magician.

Penguin Modern: fifty new books celebrating the pioneering spirit of the iconic Penguin Modern Classics series, with each one offering a concentrated hit of its contemporary, international flavour. Here are authors ranging from Kathy Acker to James Baldwin, Truman Capote to Stanislaw Lem and George Orwell to Shirley Jackson; essays radical and inspiring; poems moving and disturbing; stories surreal and fabulous; taking us from the deep South to modern Japan, New York's underground scene to the farthest reaches of outer space.

Novella One

Pittacus Lore

A pulse-pounding new series set in the Sunday Times bestselling world of Pittacus Lore's I Am Number Four. Follow the latest adventures of the Human Garde as they develop their legacies and battle to save our planet.

The Toymakers

Robert Dinsdale

Do you remember when you believed in magic?

It is 1917, and while war wages across Europe, in the heart of London, there is a place of hope and enchantment.

The Emporium sells toys that capture the imagination of children and adults alike: patchwork dogs that seem alive, toy boxes that are bigger on the inside, soldiers that can fight battles of their own. Into this family business comes young Cathy Wray, running away from a shameful past. The Emporium takes her in, makes her one of its own.

But Cathy is about to discover that the Emporium has secrets of its own…


A dark enchanting, spectacularly imaginative novel perfect for fans of Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist and Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus

You can never have enough books…

Sign up for news on our latest and greatest reads