All your friends are here!

Choose an Age & Stage





Also in our family


For older readers

Ladybird Global - Teachers

Ladybird books are loved all around the world and provide your child with the best possible start for reading success. Find out about our range of books for teachers around the world.


To order any of the Ladybird books, please contact your local Ladybird representative.  


Enthuse, motivate and encourage a love of learning

A brand new series from Ladybird, perfect for learning English as a foreign language

More information

Key Words with Peter and Jane


How do the books work?

‘Key Words’ are the most frequently occurring words in the English language. Research has shown that very few of these key English words form a very high proportion of those in everyday use.


How does it work?

12 words = ¼ of all the words we read and write every day!

100 words = ½ of all the words we read and write every day!

If children are taught these key words first, it is easier for them to learn to read.

The Key Words with Peter and Jane books are so successful because each of the key words is introduced gradually and repeated frequently. This builds confidence in children when they recognise these key words on sight (also known as the ‘look and say’ method of learning). Examples of key words are: the, one, two, he.

See the first 100 key words here.


How should I use the books with my class?

Key Words with Peter and Jane has 12 levels, each with 3 books: a, b and c.

Series a
Gradually introduces and repeats new words

Series b
Provides further practice of these same words but in a different context and with different illustrations.

Series c
Invites children to try writing the words and introduces reading using phonics, enabling children to read increasingly difficult words.


Read it yourself

About Read it yourself

Read it yourself is Ladybird's celebrated classic series featuring traditional stories that are part of every child's inheritance. Best of all, they are designed so that children can read them for themselves.

The stories are carefully graded into four reading levels: they are ideal supporting readers as they are built around high frequency (key) words. There is lots of confidence building repetition and the stories are fun to read.

Level 1 is for children who have begun to take their first steps in reading, by phonic or key word approaches.

Level 2 is for beginner readers who can read very short, simple sentences, with help.

Level 3 is for children who have completed their initial reading instruction and who are ready to progress to slightly longer stories.

Level 4 is ideal for children who are eager to read stories with a wider vocabulary.

All of the levels are great for reading to your children and talking about the beautiful, lively illustrations.  

Read with me

Based on the Key Words with Peter and Jane reading scheme, Read With Me is an enjoyable and uncomplicated reading scheme that uses the ‘look and say’ approach to learning to read. Pronunciation and meaning are developed through regular introduction and repetition of essential Key Words.

Read With Me can be used alongside Key Words or independently.

Other Ladybird Books

For information on all the other Ladybird books available, click here.

Further resources

Age and Stage

You might also be interested in visiting our Age and Stage section. In this section we have recommendations, information and books for learning to read, including Phonics and Read it yourself.