Which world would you like to explore?

Also in our family

Ladybird

For younger readers

Reading list

Ten books for fans of sci-fi and dystopian reads

Take off on new adventures with this book pile, full of science fiction and far-out, dystopian reads. There’s a boy from outer space (with added silver underpants), edge-of-your-seat time travel, and a journey to the centre of the earth. Get ready, a universe of stories awaits…

 

Whether it's happy or sad, oh-so-scary or just downright funny, everyone has a favourite book from their childhood. From the adventures of one naughtly little bunny, to a caterpillar with a penchant for eating just about anything, here's ten books that are without a doubt, classic. Let the wild rumpus start!
Whether it's happy or sad, oh-so-scary or just downright funny, everyone has a favourite book from their childhood. From the adventures of one naughtly little bunny, to a caterpillar with a penchant for eating just about anything, here's ten books that are without a doubt, classic. Let the wild rumpus start!
Whether it's happy or sad, oh-so-scary or just downright funny, everyone has a favourite book from their childhood. From the adventures of one naughtly little bunny, to a caterpillar with a penchant for eating just about anything, here's ten books that are without a doubt, classic. Let the wild rumpus start!

Hilo: The Boy Who Crashed To Earth by Judd Winick

D.J. and Gina are two ordinary kids. Ordinary, that is - until Hilo comes crashing down from the sky and nearly blows up their clubhouse! Hilo doesn’t know where he came from, or what he’s doing on Earth, but with the help of D.J. and Gina, he’s ready to find out. Can the unlikely threesome save the world? Get ready for an out of this world, laugh-out-loud adventure in this cartoon-style book. 

Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne

Eccentric, intrepid explorer Professor Lidenbrock and his nervous nephew Axel embark on the most unusual expedition: to journey through an extinct Icelandic volcano to the centre of the earth. Journey to the Centre of the Earth is a timeless adventure and a true science fiction classic, and this fascinating tale unearths an astonishing subterranean world of wonders. A journey like no other, written by sci-fi master Jules Verne, this book is a must read for all ages.

George and the Blue Moon by Lucy Hawking and Stephen Hawking

George and best friend Annie have been selected for junior astronaut training and can’t wait to get stuck in. But at space camp they find out there are secret space missions happening and suddenly their astronaut training is much scarier than they first thought. Written by world-renowned scientist Stephen Hawking and his daughter Lucy, the story is told with up-to-the-minute facts from the world’s leading scientists. It’s a rocket-ride from beginning to end.

Bogwoppit by Ursula Williams

Orphaned Samantha is packed off to live with her Aunt Daisy, a snooty woman with an enormous house and no time for kids. Luckily Samantha finds a small, furry creature living in the cellar – a bogwoppit – thought to be extinct, until now…! Bogwoppit is a light-hearted, humourous classic with a gutsy central character. This story will keep you guessing until the very end. And make sure you double-check your cellar before you go to sleep…

Boy In The Tower by Polly Ho-Yen

Ade lives with his Mum at the top of a tower block in an inner-city estate. But one day the nearby tower blocks start to crumble and strange, menacing plants begin to grow. Ade and his Mum are trapped inside their block with no way out and it’s up to Ade to keep himself and his Mum safe. This is a dark, complex and edge-of-your-seat science-fiction read with friendship, resilience and loyalty at its heart.

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Meg Murray and Charles Wallace’s father was experimenting with the fifth dimension of time travel when he went missing. But when a stranger arrives in their home on a dark and stormy night the siblings know they must go on a journey through time and space to find him. A Wrinkle in Time is a much-loved classic sci-fi adventure with a strong female central character that has been enjoyed by generations. 

TimeRiders (Book 1) by Alex Scarrow

Liam, Maddy and Sal should all have died but they haven’t. Instead, they’ve been selected by a time-changing agency to go back in time and change the past. They are TimeRiders and their sole mission is to protect us. This is an action-packed adventure set across multiple time periods that will have sci-fi fans hooked. It’s the first instalment in the series of nine TimeRider books with a tenth in the works, so new fans can keep on exploring.

I’m Telling You, They’re Aliens! by Jeremy Strong

Rob is a worrier. He worries about everything - like being bitten by snakes or even dinosaurs lying in wait around the corner! So when a rather unusual family moves in across the road Rob is convinced that they’re definitely aliens, and he’ll do whatever he can to expose them (and save the world)! This laugh-out-loud story is a fun entry-level read for those new to sci-fi. Written by well-known children’s author Jeremy Strong, it’s perfect for readers with an out of this world imagination, and the unexpected ending is not to be missed!

Doctor Who: Dr. Twelfth by Adam Hargreaves

The infamous time-travelling Doctor Who has been given a Mr. Men makeover in this fresh take on an old favourite. Join Dr. Twelfth and his companion Missy in a new adventure through time and space. Don’t miss Dr. First, Dr. Fourth and Dr. Eleventh which are also available from this fun series, all jam-packed full of quirky Whovian adventures. This pocket-sized read is great for Doctor Who fans large and small.

Doctor Who: The Companion’s Companion

Clara Oswald (and others)

Doctor Who: The Companion’s Companion

Have you got what it takes to be the Doctor’s next companion? There’s only one way to find out! This action-packed guide on what it takes to be Doctor Who’s side-kick will give you the low-down on all you need to know. Full of tips, tricks and insider know-how from well-known favourites - such as how to pack for the Tardis and how to give an alien first aid – The Companion’s Companion will make sure you’re primed and ready for travels through the Whoniverse whenever the Doctor needs you.

Sign up to the Puffin newsletter

Get the latest reading recommendations, competitions and activities straight to your inbox

You might like