Which world would you like to explore?

Also in our family

Ladybird

For younger readers

Reading list

10 books packed with Girl Power

Here come the girls! This collection of seriously sassy stories feature the most bold, brave and brilliant girls, and are packed with girl power. 

 

Whether it's happy or sad, oh-so-scary or just downright funny, everyone has a favourite book from their childhood. From the adventures of one naughtly little bunny, to a caterpillar with a penchant for eating just about anything, here's ten books that are without a doubt, classic. Let the wild rumpus start!
Whether it's happy or sad, oh-so-scary or just downright funny, everyone has a favourite book from their childhood. From the adventures of one naughtly little bunny, to a caterpillar with a penchant for eating just about anything, here's ten books that are without a doubt, classic. Let the wild rumpus start!
Whether it's happy or sad, oh-so-scary or just downright funny, everyone has a favourite book from their childhood. From the adventures of one naughtly little bunny, to a caterpillar with a penchant for eating just about anything, here's ten books that are without a doubt, classic. Let the wild rumpus start!

DC Super Hero Girls: Wonder Woman at Super Hero High by Lisa Yee

Teenage girls will find plenty to identify with in this, the first in a new series of DC Super Hero stories with strong female leading characters. In an attempt to hone her super hero skills, Amazonian princess Wonder Woman enrols at Super Hero High School. But being the new girl isn’t easy, especially when you’re getting nasty notes from an anonymous sender, your room mate shares too much about you on social-media and you’ve no experience with the opposite sex.

Buy the book

 

Northern Lights – The Graphic Novel Volume 1 by Philip Pullman

Fierce and fearless – Lyra Belacqua – the hero of Philip Pullman’s award-winning fantasy is a force to be reckoned with as she adventures into the frozen north to rescue her friend. This is the first of three graphic novels making up the book and is a visual treat, perfect for introducing the quick-witted and wily Lyra to any reluctant readers.

Buy the book

Seriously Sassy by Maggi Gibson

Wannabe singer/songwriter and saviour of the world Sassy Wilde has a lot on her plate. Between working on her demo disk and campaigning about the environment, she has to puzzle over boys, friendships and parents. A brilliant read for fans of Jaqueline Wilson, Sassy is a great hero for modern readers grappling with the same issues, while also showing that it’s cool to care.

Buy the book

Cream Buns and Crime by Robin Stevens

Set in the 1930s, school sleuths Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong run their own secret detective agency at Deepdean School for girls. This book brings new stories and mini-mysteries together with tips and facts for eagle-eyed investigators keen to crack their own cases.

Buy the book

Anne of Green Gables by L.M Montgomery

Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert plan to adopt a boy to help run their farm, but instead they get sent the story-loving, talkative Anne Shirley. Despite the mix-up, Anne charms the close-knit community and the quite-but-kind siblings who take her in. This classic story about a misfit who ends up thriving is a brilliant read for young readers, particularly those on the awkward cusp of teenage years.  

Buy the book

The Worst Witch by Jill Murphy

Nearly 20 years before Harry Potter, readers were entranced by another magical student: Mildred Hubble. Mildred is a trainee at Miss Cackle’s Academy for Witches, where her clumsiness gets her into all sorts of trouble and adventures. Her loyalty, kind heart and friendships just about see her through. Now a CBBC show, this is the perfect time to introduce readers to this much-loved magical misfit.

Buy the book

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

Thanks to her pale skin and hair, Alice is an oddbod in the world of Ferenwood where colour and magic combine. Despite her seeming lack of magic, Alice braves a journey into the frightening land of Furthermore in search of her beloved father. This is a darker twist on a fairy tale with a hero full of wit and courage – a slightly more grown-up version of her namesake, Alice in Wonderland.

Buy the book

Agent Amelia: Golden Case Files by Michael Broad

Move over James Bond! Here are six super stories about Agent Amelia’s secret world-saving exploits. Always on the lookout for anything suspicious and ready with a new invention and creative costume, Amelia improvises her way through each adventure in style. These are great first chapter books for any young readers.

Buy the book

 

 

 

Mabel Jones and the Doomsday Book by Will Mabbitt

The most recent instalment in Mabel Jones’ adventures sees our heroine go on a quest to the sinister city of Otam in order to uncover the Doomsday Book. Wacky and witty with lively illustrations, the brilliant wordplay and puns will delight young adventurers.

Buy the book

Little Women by Louisa May Allcot

This classic coming-of-age novel with well-rounded female characters very much at its heart is a must-read for young girls. The story follows the lives of four very different sisters as they emerge from adolescence in a Post-Civil War America and learn to navigate the problems of adult life and gender roles in their own individual ways. 

Buy the book

You might like