Which world would you like to explore?

Also in our family

Ladybird

For younger readers

Reading list

10 books for fans of comics and graphic novels

Full of incredible illustrations and endless action, these colourful stories are perfect for fans of comics and graphic novels. 

Hilo: The Boy Who Crashed To Earth (Book 1) by Judd Winick

What happens when a mysterious boy dressed in some very curious silver underpants crash-lands on Earth? Meet Hilo, an alien invader who has no idea where he came from or why he’s here but with the help of new friends D.J. and Gina, he’s about to find out! Hilo is an action-packed graphic novel with a big sense of humour that celebrates friendship and diversity, and above all - finding the extraordinary in the ordinary. 

Buy the book

 

Invisible Emmie by Terri Libenson

Artistic Emmie is quiet and shy, while athletic Katie is outgoing and popular. They are two very different girls. But their worlds collide when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. A day in the life of this unlikely pair is told through parallel stories in this debut cartoon-led book. Invisible Emmie is a fun and heartfelt story with a surprising and empowering final twist.

Buy the book

 

The Long Haul (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Book 9) by Jeff Kinney

Hop aboard the Heffley’s car for another family road trip you’ll never forget! Greg’s Mum insists they need to bond on this awkward family holiday, which - after a few wrong turns - quickly descends into chaos... in true Heffley style! Told through charmingly-funny illustrations, this story will leave readers giggling all the way to the end.

Buy the book

 

My Magical Life by Zach King and Beverly Arce (Illustrator)

Everyone in 11-year-old Zach’s family has magical powers, but Zach is having a few, err... difficulties, getting to grips with his. When his parents decide to send him to a 'real' school, Zach can’t resist doing a spot of magic and soon everyone at school is wondering who Zach is and how exactly he does his ‘tricks’. Each book comes with a downloadable app, which makes Zach’s magical life truly interactive and brings the fun illustrations and characters to life in 3D.

Buy the book

 

Danger Really is Everywhere: School of Danger by David O’Doherty and Chris Judge (Illustrator)

Dr Noel Zone is the greatest (and only) Dangerologist in the world and he’s ready to teach you how to avoid danger - at all costs! A fully illustrated, completely bonkers, creative handbook with loads of laugh-out-loud pages. Perfect for readers who like goofy humour and zany weirdness, Danger Really is Everywhere is a delightful page turner. 

Buy the book

 

My Brother’s Famous Bottom Makes A Splash! by Jeremy Strong

Do bottoms make you giggle? Then this book definitely will! Join Nicholas and his family as they pack their bags and head off for some rest and relaxation on holiday. This is a comical new adventure in the My Brother’s Famous Bottom series with a good sense of humour that will have readers laughing their socks right off.

Buy the book

 

Colin Furze: This Book Isn’t Safe by Colin Furze

Guinness World Record holder and YouTube sensation Colin Furze is on a mission to inspire the next generation of masterful inventors. Unlock instructions of how to make ten of Colin’s zaniest inventions including concrete shoes, a downhill trike and a room-tidying lever. Plus, there are plenty of behind-the-scenes tips, tricks and of course - hidden LOLs!

Buy the book

Ali-A Adventures Game On! by Ali-A, Cavan Scott, Aleksander Sotirovski (Illustrator)

When Ali-A is invited to a game launch he expects all the action to be on-screen, but he’s taken by surprise when a hoard of aliens turn up wanting to get in on the party. It’s up to Ali to transform from gaming icon to real life superhero. Can he defeat the end-of-game boss and save the day? With more than 13 million YouTube subscribers across his two channels, Ali-A is one of the biggest gamers on YouTube and his hotly-anticipated graphic novel is certain to give any gaming fans a thrill. 

Buy the book

 

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

Astrid Vasquez normally does everything with her best friend Nicole. But when Astrid signs up for a roller derby summer camp and Nicole wants to do ballet instead, suddenly Astrid is on her own. Not only does she have to figure out how to roller skate, but she also has to work out who she really is. WITHOUT her BFF. This is a comic-style book about friendship and confidence, packed full of girl power.  

Buy the book

 

You might like