10 results 1-10

The Invoice

Jonas Karlsson (Author)

It’s an unremarkable life, I guess, nothing special. I’m in my thirties, I work part-time in a video store in Stockholm, most of my friends are busy with their families, I live alone. I suppose you’d say I have an ordinary life… But I love this city, and even though my flat is small it suits me, I’m comfortable here. In the summer, the sun shines in through my windows at just the right angle and I can hear all the sounds of summer life down in the street. And there’s a really good ice-cream stall just near my building, which sells my favourite flavours. So, ordinary maybe, but happy. Yes, I think it’s fair to say I’m a happy man. And isn’t that enough?


A love story and a charming, surreal and funny tale about happiness, The Invoice will change the way you see your life.

The Story of a Marriage

Geir Gulliksen (Author), Deborah Dawkin (Translator)

It begins: ‘Can you tell me about us?’

Intense, erotic, dramatic, raw – this devastatingly condensed novel tells the story of the breakup of a marriage. It explores the dynamics of a long-term relationship, companionship and intimacy, and the distance that grows despite both security and freedom. It is about the (im)possibilities of knowing another human being and of finding – and maintaining – the great love we long for. In Gulliksen's characteristically sparse and finely chiselled language the narrator Jon reflects on the break-down of his marriage and the dismantling of their tightly united family. Jon ostensibly attempts to tell the story from his wife’s point of view, trying to understand how she could fall in love with another man, his attempt revealing more projection than insight and provoking painful questions: How can one truly know another person? How much of what we think is love, is just a construct? Is it possible to have sex without violating oneself or the other? Gulliksen explores these questions, turning them over again and again till they crack, revealing hollowness – or possible new meanings.

The Story of a Marriage is a gripping but slippery narrative of obsession and deceit, of two people striving for happiness and freedom from convention, but ultimately falling apart.

The Room

Jonas Karlsson (Author) , Neil Smith (Translator)

The Authority looks favourably upon meticulousness, efficiency and ambition. Bjorn has all of this in spades, but it's only in the Room that he can really shine. Unfortunately, his colleagues see things differently. In fact, they don't even see the Room at all.

The Room is a short, sharp and fiendish fable in the tradition of Franz Kafka, Samuel Beckett and Charlie Kauffman. If you have ever toiled in an office, felt like the world was against you or questioned the nature of reality then this is the novel for you.

Two Stories

Virginia Woolf (Author) , Mark Haddon (Author)

Virginia Woolf was one of the most influential writers of the twentieth century. With her husband, Leonard Woolf, she started the Hogarth Press in 1917: the list ranged widely in fiction, poetry, politics and psychoanalysis, and published all Virginia Woolf’s own work.

Its first publication appeared in 2017: Two Stories, bound in bright Japanese paper, contained a short story from both Virginia and Leonard. Typeset and bound by Virginia, with illustrations by Dora Carrington, 134 copies were printed by Leonard using a small handpress installed in the dining room at Hogarth House, Richmond.

To celebrate the 100th anniversary of ‘Publication No. 1’ this new edition of Two Stories takes the original text of Virginia’s story, ‘The Mark on the Wall’ (with illustrations by Dora Carrington), and pairs it with a new story, ‘St Brides Bay’, by Mark Haddon, a lifelong reader of Virginia Woolf.

TWO STORIES also includes a portrait of Virginia Woolf by Mark Haddon, and a short introduction from the publisher about the founding of the Press.

Beautiful Animals

Lawrence Osborne (Author)

'Let’s not mince words. This is a great book' Lionel Shriver

'An heir to Graham Greene' New York Times Book Review

During a white-hot summer on the idyllic Greek island of Hydra, two girls fall into one another’s lives to devastating effect.

When Samantha, a young, impressionable American, meets Naomi, a Brit with a taste for danger, their relationship quickly takes on a special intensity. Amid the sun, sea and high society of island life, their imaginations are sparked when one day they find a young Arab man, Faoud, washed up on shore, a casualty of the crisis raging across the Aegean. But when their seemingly simple plan to help the stranger goes wrong, all must face the horrific consequences they have set in motion.

Sinister and ravishing, Beautiful Animals tells the story of two worlds colliding. It exposes the dark heart of friendship, and shows just how often the road to hell is paved with the best of intentions.

'Like The Great Gatsby' New York Times Book Review

Small Country

Gael Faye (Author)

1992. Gabriel is ten years old and lives in Burundi’s comfortable expat neighbourhood with his French father, an entrepreneur, his Tutsi Rwandan mother, and his little sister Ana. Gabriel spends his time playing with friends and having fun in the streets they have turned into their kingdom. But, despite the euphoria of the country's first democratic election, there are hints of trouble ahead, and soon this peaceful idyll will suddenly and brutally shatter when Burundi, and neighbouring Rwanda, are hit by war and genocide.

In this magnificent, devastating, unforgettable coming-of-age novel, Gaël Faye describes an end of innocence and dives deep into the torments and questions of a child caught in the maelstrom of history. It is a beautiful tale of redemption through the power of reading, as well as a vivid depiction of the pain of losing your home country.

Gun Love

Jennifer Clement (Author)

‘My mother called anyone or anything that seemed alone, or ended up in the wrong place, a stray. There were stray people, stray dogs, stray bullets, and stray butterflies.’

Fourteen-year-old Pearl France lives in the front seat of a broken down car and her mother Margot lives in the back. Together they survive on a diet of powdered milk and bug spray, love songs and stolen cigarettes.

Life on the edge of a Florida trailer park is strange enough but when Pastor Rex’s ‘Guns for God’ programme brings Eli Redmond to town Pearl’s world is upended. Eli pays regular visits to Margot in the back seat, forcing Pearl to find a world beyond the car. Eli presents Pearl’s mother with a love gift, a gun of her own, just like he’s giving her flowers. It sits under the driver’s seat, a dark presence…

Gun Love is a hypnotic story of family, community and violence. Told from the perspective of a sharp-eyed teenager, it exposes America’s love affair with firearms and its painful consequences

Macbeth

Jo Nesbo (Author)

JO NESBO: #1 Sunday Times bestseller, #1 New York Times bestseller, 36 million books sold worldwide


He’s the best cop they’ve got.

When a drug bust turns into a bloodbath it’s up to Inspector Macbeth and his team to clean up the mess.

He’s also an ex-drug addict with a troubled past.

He’s rewarded for his success. Power. Money. Respect. They’re all within reach.

But a man like him won’t get to the top.

Plagued by hallucinations and paranoia, Macbeth starts to unravel. He’s convinced he won’t get what is rightfully his.

Unless he kills for it.

Dunbar

Edward St Aubyn (Author)

‘I really did have an empire, you know,’ said Dunbar. ‘Have I ever told you the story of how it was stolen from me?

Henry Dunbar, the once all-powerful head of a global corporation, is not having a good day. In his dotage he handed over care of the family firm to his two eldest daughters, Abby and Megan. But relations quickly soured, leaving him doubting the wisdom of past decisions...

Now imprisoned in a care home in the Lake District with only a demented alcoholic comedian as company, Dunbar starts planning his escape. As he flees into the hills, his family is hot on his heels. But who will find him first, his beloved youngest daughter, Florence, or the tigresses Abby and Megan, so keen to divest him of his estate?

Edward St Aubyn is renowned for his masterwork, the five Melrose novels, which dissect with savage and beautiful precision the agonies of family life. Dunbar is a devastating family story and an excoriating novel for and of our times – an examination of power, money and the value of forgiveness.

New Boy

Tracy Chevalier (Author)

'O felt her presence behind him like a fire at his back.'

Arriving at his fourth school in six years, diplomat’s son Osei Kokote knows he needs an ally if he is to survive his first day – so he’s lucky to hit it off with Dee, the most popular girl in school. But one student can’t stand to witness this budding relationship: Ian decides to destroy the friendship between the black boy and the golden girl. By the end of the day, the school and its key players – teachers and pupils alike – will never be the same again.

The tragedy of Othello is transposed to a 1970s’ suburban Washington schoolyard, where kids fall in and out of love with each other before lunchtime, and practise a casual racism picked up from their parents and teachers. Watching over the shoulders of four 11-year-olds – Osei, Dee, Ian and his reluctant girlfriend Mimi – Tracy Chevalier's powerful drama of friends torn apart by jealousy, bullying and betrayal will leave you reeling.

1-10 of 10 results

Show 20 per page