6 results 1-6

The House that Groaned

Karrie Fransman (Author)

The House That Groaned is a graphic novel that explores bodies and the spaces they inhabit.

It is set in an old Victorian tenement housing six lonely individuals who could only have stepped out of the pages of a comic book. There is the retoucher who cannot touch, a grandmother who literally blends into the background and a twenty-something bloke who's sexually attracted to diseased women.

Yet, as we learn the stories behind these extreme characters, it becomes apparent that we may share simlar issues - as individuals and as a society.

Speaking in Tongues

Ella Frances Sanders (Author)

Ever feel like you are pedalling in the choucroute? Been caught with your beard in the mailbox again? Or maybe you just wish everyone would stop ironing your head?

Speaking in Tongues brings the weird, wonderful and surprising nuanced beauty of language to life with over fifty gorgeous watercolour and ink illustrations.

Here you will find the perfect romantic expression, such as the Spanish tu eres mi media naranja, or 'you are the love of my life, my soulmate', and the bizarre, including dancing bears and broken pots, feeding donkeys sponge cake, a head full of crickets, and clouds and radishes. All encourage new ways of thinking about the world around us, and breathe magnificent life into the everyday.

These phrases from across the world are ageless and endlessly enchanting, passed down through generations. Now they are yours.

The Trouble With Women

Jacky Fleming (Author)

CAN WOMEN BE GENIUSES? OR ARE THEIR ARMS TOO SHORT?
WHY DID WE ONLY LEARN ABOUT THREE WOMEN AT SCHOOL?
WHAT WERE ALL THE OTHERS DOING?

'Brilliantly, mordantly funny and extremely clever… There isn’t a man, woman or child who wouldn’t benefit from spending time with this.' India Knight

The Trouble With Women does for girls what 1066 and All That did for boys: it reminds us of what we were taught about women in history lessons at school, which is to say, not a lot. A brilliantly witty book of cartoons, it reveals some of our greatest thinkers' baffling theories about women. We learn that even Charles Darwin, long celebrated for his open, objective scientific mind, believed that women would never achieve anything important, because of their smaller brains.

Get ready to laugh, wince and rescue forgotten women from the 'dustbin of history', whilst keeping a close eye out for tell-tale 'genius hair'. You will never look at history in the same way again.

Bookworm

Lucy Mangan (Author)


When Lucy Mangan was little, stories were everything. They opened up new worlds and cast light on all the complexities she encountered in this one.

She was whisked away to Narnia – and Kirrin Island – and Wonderland. She ventured down rabbit holes and womble burrows into midnight gardens and chocolate factories. She wandered the countryside with Milly-Molly-Mandy, and played by the tracks with the Railway Children. With Charlotte’s Web she discovered Death and with Judy Blume it was Boys. No wonder she only left the house for her weekly trip to the library or to spend her pocket money on amassing her own at home.

In Bookworm, Lucy revisits her childhood reading with wit, love and gratitude. She relives our best-beloved books, their extraordinary creators, and looks at the thousand subtle ways they shape our lives. She also disinters a few forgotten treasures to inspire the next generation of bookworms and set them on their way.

Lucy brings the favourite characters of our collective childhoods back to life – prompting endless re-readings, rediscoveries, and, inevitably, fierce debate – and brilliantly uses them to tell her own story, that of a born, and unrepentant, bookworm.

Our Story

Rao Pingru (Author) , Nicky Harman (Translator)

Rao Pingru was a twenty-six-year-old soldier when he saw Mao Meitang, a girl he’d known from childhood who had grown up to be a beautiful woman – the woman his father had arranged for him to marry. One glimpse of her through a window as she put on lipstick was enough to capture Rao’s heart, the moment that sparked a union that would last almost sixty years.

Our Story is that epic romance told through his paintings and accompanying text. We see Pingru and Meitang through the decades, through both poverty and good fortune – looking for work, opening a restaurant, moving cities, mending shoes, raising their children, and being separated for seventeen years by the government when Pingru is sent to a labour camp. As they age, China undergoes extraordinary growth, political turmoil and cultural change. When Meitang passes away in 2008, Pingru memorialises his wife and their relationship the only way he knows how: painting. In an outpouring of love and grief, he puts it all on paper. It’s a tale at once tragic and inspiring, of enduring love and simple values, an old-fashioned story that unfolds in a nation rapidly becoming modern. Spanning from 1923 to 2008, Our Story is a truly singular graphic memoir.

My Life in Lists

Guy Browning (Author)

1. Everyone loves a list
2. And this is a novel, told entirely in lists.
3. Have you ever wondered what your life might look like in little lists?
4. It might look something like this

This funny, surprisingly moving novel follows the everyday life of our list-making hero, from the very first bullet points at 10, through school days, first crushes, teenage kisses and first dates, clumsy sexual encounters and university, early career, serious falling-in-love and marriage, kids, divorce, professional meltdown and resurrection, frightening online dating, and miraculous new love again, aged 50.

If you read more lists than books, then this might just be the novel for you.

For fans of Adrian Mole and Nick Hornby and readers of all ages, MY LIFE IN LISTS is a novel for the listicle generation, a book to tickle funny bones and move hearts in equal measure.

1-6 of 6 results

Show 20 per page