Refine

By Category

By Imprint

6 results 1-6

Moonshine

Rob Thurman (Author)

What comes after you've stopped the end of the world?

Cal and his half-brother Niko's lives are settling back to normal after stopping their bloodthirsty relatives from bringing about the apocalypse. They've found a new apartment and even gainful employment by starting an investigative agency in partnership with a glamorous Upper East Side vampire. Of course, their clientele tends to be a little . . . unusual, but their money spends just the same.

Their latest job is undercover work for the Kin - New York's werewolf mafia - to sniff out proof of a set-up by a rival. The location is Moonshine, a gambling club for the otherworldly, and Cal figures it will be an easy in-and-out sort of job. But as Niko likes to point out, nothing is more dangerous than overconfidence and when a brawl gets out of hand, it looks like he's right. Are Cal and Niko being set up themselves? And by people whose bite is so much worse than their bark . . .

Madhouse

Rob Thurman (Author)

The next book in the Cal Leandros series that began with Nightlife, Madhouse is a clever and hugely entertaining urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher by New York Times bestselling author, Rob Thurman.

'My brother had spent a lifetime - mine, at least - telling me that I was normal, that I wasn't a monster. With his help, I'd finally realized that as long as I could remain who I was, I could survive what I was. It was only bad genes . . .'

Half-human Cal Leandros and his brother, Niko, aren't exactly prospering with their preternatural detective agency. Who could have guessed that business would dry up in New York City, where vampires, trolls, and other creepy crawlies are all over the place?

But now there's a new arrival in the Big Apple. A malevolent evil with ancient powers, dead set on making history with an orgy of blood and murder, is on a human killing spree. And for Cal and Niko, this is one paycheck they're going to have to earn . . . if they survive to collect it.

But this evil might be too much for even Cal and Niko to handle, and to take it on, Cal will have to call forth the powerful talents he inherited from his unhuman father's side of the family . . .

A stunning urban fantasy with a deeply humorous edge, Rob Thurman's Madhouse is not to be missed.


'Supernatural elements put this in the company of Jim Butcher and Charlaine Harris. Fans of dark urban fantasy will certainly want to follow Cal's adventures. Recommended' SFRevu

'A roaring rollercoaster of a read . . . it's sharp and sardonic, mischievous and mysterious' Simon R. Green


Rob Thurman lives in Indiana, land of rolling hills and cows. Lots and lots of cows. Nightlife, the first novel in the Cal Leandros series is also published by Penguin. Visit Rob at www.robthurman.net

Nightlife

Rob Thurman (Author)

'There are monsters among us. There always have been and there always will be. I've know that since I can remember, just like I've always known that I was one . . . Well, half of one anyway.'

Cal Leandros is 19. He eats junk food, he doesn't clean up after himself and fights with his half brother Niko. It's a fairly normal life, but for the fact that Cal and Niko are constantly on the run. Cal's father has been after him for the last four years. And given that he's a monster whose dark lineage is the stuff of nightmares they really don't want him and his entire otherworldly race catching up with them. But Cal is about to learn why they want him, why they've always wanted him - he is the key to unleashing their hell on earth.

Meanwhile the bright lights of the Big Apple shine on, oblivious to the fact that the fate of the human world will be decided in the fight of Cal and Niko's lives . . .

Doubletake

Rob Thurman (Author)

The latest book in the Cal Leandros series that began with Nightlife, Doubletake is clever, ironic and hugely entertaining urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher and Charlaine Harris by the New York Times bestselling author, Rob Thurman.

'Family was a hateful bitch, it was. I had the hot poker scars of that burned into my flesh, but, scars or not, sometimes family was all you had worth playing with. Maybe he would see that. Maybe he would want to play too. I played rough . . . I played to win.'

If anyone knows that having family isn't always a good thing, it's half-human/ half-living nightmare Cal Leandros. But for once, it's not his relatives causing the trouble. That headache belongs to his half-brother, Niko. His ne'er-do-well father is in town. He needs a favour, and if Niko refuses, it just might doom the entire city.

Yet an even more dangerous reunion is in the works. The entire lying, stealing, hormonally charged Puck race (including the brothers' lethally charismatic friend Robin Goodfellow) is in town for their millennial meeting - and to hold a lottery that no Puck wants to win.

As Cal tries to keep both Niko and Robin from paying the ultimate price for their kin, a horrific reminder from Cal's own past arrives to remind him that blood is thicker than water . . . and that's why it's so much more frightening to spill.

A compelling contemporary fantasy with a witty and dark edge, Rob Thurman's Doubletake should not be missed.

Praise for Rob Thurman:

'All the great elements I've come to expect from this writer' Charlaine Harris

'Thurman delivers in spades' SFRevu

'A roaring rollercoaster of a read . . . it'll take your breath away' Simon R. Green

Rob Thurman lives in Indiana, land of rolling hills and cows. Lots and lots of cows. Nightlife, Moonshine, Madhouse and Deathwish, the previous novels in the Cal Leandros series, are also published by Penguin. Visit Rob at www.robthurman.net.

Slashback

Rob Thurman (Author)

The eighth book in the Cal Leandros series that began with Nightlife, Slashback is clever, ironic and hugely entertaining urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher by the New York Times bestselling author, Rob Thurman.

I stopped and let them circle me, first because it was intriguing and, second, because, honestly, what could they do? Only knives, but all armed, and that made them even more interesting. Interesting. Fun.

Play-time...

Taking on bloodthirsty supernatural monsters is how Caliban and Niko Leandros make a living. But years ago - before they became a force to be reckoned with - the brothers were almost victims of a very human serial killer.

Almost.

Unfortunately for them, that particular depraved killer was working as apprentice to a creature far more malevolent - the legendary Spring-heeled Jack. He's just hit town. He hasn't forgotten what the Leandros brothers did to his murderous protégé. He hasn't forgotten what they owe him

And now they are going to pay . . . and pay . . . and pay . . .
A dark contemporary fantasy with a humorous edge, Rob Thurman's Slashback should not be missed.

Praise for Rob Thurman:

'Supernatural elements put this in the company of Jim Butcher and Charlaine Harris' SFRevu

'A roaring rollercoaster of a read . . . it'll take your breath away' Simon R. Green

Rob Thurman lives in Indiana, land of rolling hills and cows. Lots and lots of cows. Nightlife, Moonshine, Madhouse, Deathwish and Doubletake, the previous novels in the Cal Leandros series, are also published by Penguin. Visit Rob at www.robthurman.net.

Deathwish

Rob Thurman (Author)

The fourth book in the Cal Leandros series that began with Nightlife, Deathwish is clever, ironic and hugely entertaining urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher by the New York Times bestselling author, Rob Thurman.

'How I felt the mental stirrings of a bloodthirsty heritage when I passed through the gray light wasn't my favourite topic . . . the Auphe nature wasn't mine. I wouldn't let it be. And if I said that to myself over and over and sprinkled around enough frigging fairy dust, maybe it would be true.'

Half-human Cal Leandros and his brother, Niko, are barely getting by with their preternatural detective agency when the vampire Seamus hires them. He's being followed, and he wants to know by whom. But the Leandros brothers have to do more than they had planned when Seamus turns up dead (or un-undead).

Worse still is the return of Cal's nightmarish family, the Auphe. The last time Cal and Niko faced them, the Auphe were almost wiped out. Now they want revenge. Cal know that before the Auphe get to him, they will try to destroy everything and everyone he holds dear. Because for the Auphe, Cal's pain is a pleasure.

And they're feeling good.

A dark contemporary fantasy with a humorous edge, Rob Thurman's Deathwish should not be missed.

Praise for Rob Thurman:

'Supernatural elements put this in the company of Jim Butcher and Charlaine Harris' SFRevu

'A roaring rollercoaster of a read . . . it'll take your breath away' Simon R. Green

Rob Thurman lives in Indiana, land of rolling hills and cows. Lots and lots of cows. Nightlife, Moonshine and Madhouse, the previous novels in the Cal Leandros series, are also published by Penguin. Visit Rob at www.robthurman.net.

1-6 of 6 results

Show 20 per page